Fishers Island Sound Steamed Mussels

by brookefiore

I am fortunate because there is a great little seafood store less than a half mile from my house. So, once home with my sand dollars in hand I could make a quick stop to pick up a bag of mussels and pull together a simple (and fairly cheap) dinner! I paired the steamed mussels with angel hair pasta and a garden salad. Make sure to discard any mussels that are opened prior to cooking.

As the mussels steam in a mixture of onion, garlic, butter and white wine I cooked the pasta.

We chose to toss with some chopped scallions.

Image

How perfect is this little fork to get the mussels out?

Fishers Island Sound Steamed Mussels

4 quarts mussels

1/4 cup butter (I used about 1/8 cup)

1 small onion, chopped

1 garlic clove, chopped

1/2 cup dry white wine (I used about 3/4 cup)

In a large pot, melt butter and saute onion and garlic for 2 minutes until soft and fragrant.

Add the white wine and cover with mussels.

Cook over high heat, covered, for 5 minutes. Stir mussels and cook for 5 more minutes until shells have opened. Remove from heat and eat directly from the pot. Oh, and don’t forget to bring a bowl to the table for those empty shells. Since we live across from a salt marsh we were able to return the shells back to the marsh. I think that’s pretty cool!

