Zucchini Chocolate Chip Muffins

by brookefiore

When I was younger and someone would ask me what my favorite season was I would answer summer, without even a second of doubt. I loved summer for so many reasons.

The first step over the dune.

The last glimpse of the sun setting over the bay.

Watching buoys bob in the waves.

The way the seagulls hunch in the wind.

How the air smells when you water the tomatoes.

The sound of the engine heading out.

Getting the best seat.

Lobster…everything!

Blueberries ready for the picking.

I could go on and on.Summer will always hold a special place in my heart but I have to admit I am a true four seasons girl now that I’ve grown up. I can’t imagine what I would do if I lived somewhere that I could not fully experience all four of the seasons. With each season’s end I feel this excitement for the change, kind of like a clean slate. New activities but also a chance once more to carry out old traditions. The autumnal equinox is on Saturday and I must bid farewell to summer. In honor of summer’s end I chose to make zucchini chocolate chip muffins, a favorite summer sweet treat of mine.

I read an article in our local paper last night. The author, an AP food critic, expressed his concerns about how the world does not need one more zucchini muffin recipe. Well AP food critic, I hate to tell you but the pile of zucchini from one of our local farms looked too darn good to pass up and I am going to have to have to subject the audience to one more zucchini muffin recipe.

Zucchini is one the the great produce of summertime. It has its place in summer salads, on steak kabobs and in my favorite muffin recipe. Another reason I really like zucchini? It matches my apron!

I chose to add some dark chocolate chips today but walnuts or raisins or just about any dried fruit or nut would probably make for a nice addition if chocolate isn’t your thing.

Just like summer, I think this recipe offers up some great colors.

Farewell summer! Hello autumn!

Please note my inspiration for a farewell to summer comes from my favorite coffee table book, Reasons to be Happy at the Beach by Sandy Gingras.

Zucchini Chocolate Chip Muffins

Makes about 12

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

3/4 cup sugar

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup vegetable or canola oil

1/4 cup skim milk

1 TBSP lemon juice

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 cup shredded zucchini

1/2 cup chocolate chips, dried fruit or nuts

Preheat oven to 350 F. Line muffin pan with papers liners. Combine flour, sugar, baking soda, cinnamon and salt in a bowl. Mix egg, oil, milk, lemon juice, and vanilla extract in another bowl; stir wet ingredients into dry ingredients until just moistened. Fold in zucchini and chocolate chips. Fill muffin liners about 2/3 full. Bake in oven until a toothpick inserted into the center of a muffin comes out clean about 20-25 minutes.

