Grilled Zucchini Hummus

by brookefiore

Today is a very exciting day. Thanks to some serious handiwork (not my own) I got to use my food processor for the very first time! You see, a friend of mine was so very generous to give me his food processor that he seemingly had no use for. My excitement grew as I thought of the hundreds of recipes I could finally make with this new tool. I began to wonder why anyone would not appreciate the greatness of this food processor but it was okay by me because now it was mine all mine. Soon after I gathered all the ingredients to make some fresh pesto as the basil on our deck was taking over quickly. It had never occurred to me that this food processor might not work. So with basil and garlic and pine nuts and all the goodness ready to blend away I turned it on. Nothing happened. Panic set in. How would I have pasta with pesto for dinner with no pesto. I hauled out the blender and made do. It took a lot of spatula work and patience but I did successfully pull off the pesto. But today, the food processor is back in action!! Can you feel my excitement?

I have to admit, I am a bit of a hummus snob. I love hummus for many reasons including its ability to replace mayonnaise on sandwiches and how nicely it pairs with some fresh cut up veggies. The local makes some of the best garlic hummus I have ever had. There is also a great Lebanese restaurant called The Pita Spot that serves up some pretty heavenly hummus. But the day may come when I cannot be so fortunate to have these places at my fingertips and I wanted a back up plan. Do you remember the AP food critic from my zucchini muffin post? Although he discouraged me a bit he also shared a fantastic recipe that I could now try out my food processor on! Luckily enough, I had another zucchini in the chiller from earlier this week so when my dad had the grill going Friday night I brushed it with some olive oil snuck it on the grill.

I then wrapped it up and stuck in back into the fridge until I could find some tahini (sesame seed butter), a necessary ingredient in any hummus recipe. This morning I set out in search of the tahini.

I really shouldn’t make it sound like such an adventure as it only took five minutes at the grocery store to get the tahini into my basket.

 Here’s my food processor in action!

I chose to serve mine with blue corn chips and some veggies.

Now I recommend that you make like Simon and enjoy some of this beautiful fall weather we are having today!

Grilled Zucchini Hummus

Makes about 2 1/2 cups

1 large zucchini (about 1 pound)

1/4 cup tahini

3 to 4 cloves garlic

1 TBSP lemon juics

1 tsp cumin

1 tsp paprika

1/2 tsp salt

Trim the ends of the zucchini and slice it in half lengthwise and lightly brush with olive oil. Place on grill for 5 to 10 minutes or just until lightly browned. When zucchini has cooled enough to handle, place it in the food processor. Add the tahini, garlic, salt, cumin, lemon juice, and paprika. Process until very smooth, about 1 minute. The hummus can be served immediately, or chilled. The hummus will thicken slightly as it chills.

