Life is Good.

by brookefiore

Do you feel that life is truly good?

These days I have been working extra hard to try and feel like life is really good. So I was very excited to find out that I would be going to the Life is Good Festival in Canton, MA! I am here to report that it was a great time! Really and truly a happiness festival powered by optimism, local food vendors and some awesome music. The best part was that 100% of the proceeds went to the Life is Good Playmakers foundation which helps kids in need. By Sunday night they had raised over 1 million dollars, how cool is that?

Here I am getting in touch with my creative youthful side with some spin art I made!

I was inspired to join in on the crafting after I saw this sign. I was also wondering what the orange thing behind the sign was. I just had to wait till it got dark to find out.

They were lights!

The crowds were great and all the volunteers were cheerful and helpful. You couldn’t have escaped the happiness if you tried. Oh, and the FAQ informed visitors that bad attitudes would not be admitted.

There was even a great view.

Some of the music guests included Sara Bareillis.

 

 Eric Hutchinson.

 Dave Matthews with Tim Reynolds.

If you know me at all you know I am a long standing Dave Matthews fan and I also love Sara Bareillis. But this event was about a whole lot more than just some good tunes. We also enjoyed locally raised beef burgers and freshly made crepes with Nutella and strawberries. I would have pictures except we devoured them too quickly!

I did manage to snap a photo of my Pina Colada, what a treat! I can’t even tell you the last time I had a fancy drink like this but I thought a fun drink was fitting for such a fun day.

 

There were even some chickens! I thought I’d pay them a visit in an attempt to continue to work on my relationship with chickens. (See previous posts for more of an explanation on that.)

 

In the spirit of the chickens I made some chicken pot pie last night! It was a busy day for me so I used pre-made Pillsbury Pie Crust. It was quick, easy, and with a few changes it wasn’t too unhealthy either!

Like I said, it was easy. Two pots and one pie dish.

 Here is the chicken and veggies. Normally I would object to boiling vegetables as some of the vitamins and minerals can leech out into the water. I also don’t like the sound of boiled chicken. I was in a bit of a hurry this time so I just did as the recipe said to do but next time I plan to steam the veggies and cook the chicken in a pan with just a little bit of olive oil.

Here’s the sauce which was made with unsalted butter, skim milk, low sodium chicken broth, onion and a little bit of flour.

Thanks to Pillsbury it looks pretty darn picture perfect don’t you think?

 This recipe said it served eight but I wouldn’t take that seriously, it was just that good.  Next time, when I have a bit more time, I plan to use my new friend the food processor to make my own crust!

Chicken Pot Pie

Serves 8 (not really)

 1 box Pillsbury Pie Crusts (set of 2)

1/2 cup chopped celery

1 cup frozen green peas

1 cup sliced carrots

About 1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breast – cubed

1/3 cup all-purpose flour

1/3 cup unsalted butter

1 3/4 cup low sodium chicken broth

1/3 cup chopped onion

2/3 cup skim milk

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

1/4 tsp celery seed

Preheat oven to 425 F. In a saucepan, combine peas, celery, carrots and chicken. Add water to cover and boil for 15 minutes. Remove from heat.

In a saucepan over medium heat cook onions and butter until onions are soft. Stir in flour, salt, pepper and celery seed. Slowly pour in chicken broth and milk. Simmer over medium-low heat until thick.

Place chicken mixture in bottom pie crust lined pie dish. Pour cream sauce over mixture. Cover with top crust, seal edges, remove any excess crust. Make several slits in the top crust and bake for 25-30 minutes or until crust browns on top. Let cool 10 minutes before serving.

