Savory Sweet Potato Fries

by brookefiore

As I walked along the row of food vendors at the Life is Good Festival this past weekend  I was amazed at the snaking line coming from one vendor in particular. The line seem to go on forever creating a wall of humans nearly impossible to miss to those wandering the venue grounds. I couldn’t imagine what they were cooking up behind that counter. What could possibly be worth standing in that line for I wondered. Patience isn’t my strongest trait so I certainly couldn’t imagine why someone would waste their time in such a line. The sun was setting and the glare was making it so I couldn’t quite make out the sign. But then I caught it, they were selling french fries. All these people were waiting around for french fries? In defense, it was the only booth selling fries but really, that’s what everyone seemed to be after. Except for myself.

 

In addition to being a hummus snob, I am also a bit of a snob when it comes to french fries. Ever since I began making my own fries in the oven about four years ago I have set the bar quite high. Run of the mill, deep fat fried french fries no longer appeal to me. Or maybe, they never appealed to me and thats why I turned to my own oven in the first place.

 Once I had mastered the slicing and baking of a russet potato (which didn’t take all that long) I moved on to something sweeter, sort of. I’ve always had a bit of an issue with contradictory foods like sour cream and more importantly sweet potatoes. Cream is sweet so why the sour? Potatoes are savory so why the sweet? I didn’t like the mix, it just didn’t work for me. Thankfully I have since changed my attitude. I would also like to dismiss the notion that sweet potatoes only place is on the Thanksgiving table.

 Image

I was going to turn up the savory factor on sweet potatoes once and for all. With pepper, paprika, and garlic powder. I suppose you could bring ketchup into the picture if you wanted to but I think these little guys are perfect all on their own. I keep the skins on for some added fiber and by baking I’ve eliminated the fat factor. Just some lightly seasoned baked fries packed full of vitamins included A and C and beta-carotene too. What’s not to love?

Sweet Potato Fries

Serves 3 to 4

2-3 large sweet potatoes

olive oil to coat

paprika

pepper

garlic powder

salt & ketchup optional

Preheat oven to 425 F. Slice sweet potatoes into thin strips and toss with just enough olive oil to lightly coat. Place fries on parchment lined baking sheets. Sprinkle with paprika, pepper and garlic powder. Bake for 20-30 minutes depending on the thickness of the strips, until crispy. Turning once about halfway through.

