Chocolate Oatmeal

by brookefiore

I know what you’re probably thinking. What kind of a dietitian eats chocolate for breakfast?

This quirky combo warmed me right up as the raw air scattered leaves about the deck and the rain spat at the windows. And yes, chocolate was involved. About 8 dark chocolate chips to be exact. I think once in a while that’s perfectly okay.

Yesterday it occurred to me that I hadn’t posted about breakfast yet. While I do set an alarm if I need to be somewhere in the morning, it is usually the alarm clock called my appetite that wakes me up. I could not live without breakfast. Really and truly, I’d be a pretty unhappy camper without my morning meal. This morning’s breakfast was fairly simple to make and has kept me full and satisfied right up through the noon hour. I bet the fiber from the old fashioned oats, almonds and dried cranberries had something to do with that. Or perhaps it was the protein from the low fat milk and almonds. I am going to go ahead and say yes, they all had a role in what makes this sweet bowl of goodness good for your appetite too.

Image

In all reality the foundation for this breakfast isn’t anything new for me. In fact, I buy old fashioned oats in the largest canister available because I like to mix them with peanut butter and blueberries or ricotta cheese with some strawberry jam or even just milk and some nuts! These oats are pretty versatile.

Oats: A grain, which in England is generally given to horses, but in Scotland appears to support the people.

Samuel Johnson

This morning I was feeling like a little chocolate and by pairing it with some other good-for-you ingredients I wasn’t wishing I had another bowl to chow down because I was perfectly satisfied. I also wasn’t feeling like I had just eaten a candy bar for breakfast, which would have given me a stomach ache.

Chocolate Oatmeal

Serves 1

2/3 cup of old fashioned oats

1/3 cup skim milk

a small hand full of sliced almonds, dark chocolate chips and dried cranberries

Microwave the oats and milk on high for about 2 minutes. Mix in the almonds, chocolate chips and dried cranberries. That’s really all there is to it!

