Steak Sandwiches

by brookefiore

I never used to be a fan of steak. This seemed to baffle whomever I shared my thoughts with, they would usually make some remark about how I was missing out on a nice juicy steak or I must not have had a real steak (whatever that meant). I always had this personal issue with the fat and the connective tissue, it was a little bit like my relationship woes with chicken. Then something changed in me and I decided to make a personal investment in steak night.

One cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one has not dined well.

Virginia Woolf

As I’ve mentioned before, I am very fortunate to live near a fish store and meat market called Grossman’s. I am a bit of meat amateur so it is always nice to have guidance in the type of cut and amount to choose for whatever recipe we plan to use. Last night we used rib eye steaks for our steak sandwiches. I never thought I would be the type to appreciate a good steak.

I found a quick and easy recipe for a steak sandwich “mayo.” I rarely use mayonnaise so I chose to follow the recipe and use real mayonnaise. If mayonnaise was something I used often I would have probably opted for a lighter version as it is very high in fat. There are some foods that I personally believe taste better in their full calorie, full fat version. In choosing these original versions I am mindful of the extra caloric load and use them sparingly or rarely.

I prepared the mayo ahead of time so that it could refrigerate and all the flavors could meld together. I substituted a few ingredients for convenience purposes but everyone approved of the new flavors that greeted the with each bite. By choosing a whole grain bread, adding some provolone cheese and serving a simple side salad this meal turns out to be quite balanced.

When this dish returns in our dinner rotation I think I will melt the cheese on the bread in the toaster to give the sandwich a bit more texture and some added warmth since the sauce is chilled.

Steak Sauce Mayo

Serves about 6

1/2 cup mayonnaise

1 1/2 tablespoons molasses

1 tablespoons Dijon mustard

1 tablespoon whole grain Dijon mustard (We didn’t have this so I doubled the amount of regular Dijon mustard).

1 tablespoons prepared horseradish ( I used worcestershire sauce)

1/2 tablespoon ketchup

Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper

Whisk together all ingredients in a medium bowl.  Cover and refrigerate for at least 1 hour.

