Roasted Acorn Squash Soup

by brookefiore

The other day I picked up some acorn squash at the store with the intention of making soup. After all, the humidity that hung in the air over August nights had seemed to have come and gone. The rain came down, the leaves boasted their fall hues and stuck to road ways.

Image But in true New England fashion, wait just five minutes – or in this case one day – and all that will change.

Today it is muggy. The fog has rolled in over the Long Island Sound and you can barely make out the dark shape silouhette of Fisher’s Island. I feel foolish for packing away the majority of my summer clothes. I am a lifetime Connecticut resident, I should know better than to think we would escape an Indian Summer.

I might sound unappreciative of this warm weather, I’m really not at all. I will tuck this day away in my back pocket and remember it when the leaves have gone away and snow is all anyone can seem to talk about. Focus on the positive I remind myself, the really important piece to this recipe is that I will get to use my food processor.

Although I knew I wanted to make soup with the squash I hadn’t done my research prior to venturing into the grocery store. Once home, I found a couple recipes, got the jist of the squash soup thing and rummaged through our chiller drawer to see what I would be adding to my recipe.

I have always been a rule follower and I have a tendency to become anxious when it comes to straying from a recipe. This of course is self-defeating. Geared with my apron and some ambition, I’ve been able to be a bit more flexible with recipes. I started by making a few substitutions here and there and I am still working on going with the flow.

My favorite additions to my acorn squash soup are a dash of cayenne pepper, apples, and toasted seeds for a finishing touch. Today has been a lesson in being flexible… when it comes to recipes and also the ever-changing weather.

Roasted Acorn Squash Soup

 2 acorn squash, sliced in half, remove the seeds and set aside

1 TBSP plus 1 tsp olive oil

1 1/4 carrots, chopped

1 apple, cored and chopped (I used Macoun because that is what we had, Granny Smith would be nice too)

1/4 onion, chopped

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp dried ginger

1/8 tsp cayenne pepper

1/8 tsp ground allspice

2 cups low sodium chicken broth

A splash of heavy cream (optional)

Preheat oven to 400 F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and place squash skin side down onto baking sheet. Sprinkle with salt and pepper and roast for 45-50 minutes. Remove from oven and allow to cool. Once cool enough to handle, spoon flesh out, discarding the skins.

In a large pot, heat 1 TBSP olive oil over medium heat. Add carrots, apple, and onion and saute about 6-8 minutes, until tender. Add in spices, squash and chicken broth. Stir well bringing to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer 15 to 20 minutes.

Remove pot from heat and puree in a food processor. Add a splash of heavy cream while mixture purees if desired. Garnish with toasted squash seeds.

For Garnish: While mixture is simmering rinse seeds and remove any remaining flesh. Pat dry and lightly toss squash seeds in about a teaspoon of olive oil. Roast for about 7 minutes or until lightly toasted. Reserve for garnish.

