Lobster Rolls

by brookefiore

Lobster rolls are one of my favorite summertime treats. From Lobster Day’s at the Seaport to dinners on the deck. Living alongside the Long Island Sound means that I’m no stranger to fresh caught lobster. I enjoy them most when they are closest to their original form.

There is something really satisfying and sentimental about cracking the lobster claw and digging the meat out with an itty bitty fork. The mess is worth every bite. When it comes to lobster rolls though I like minimal ingredients, fresh warm lobster meat and a little bit of butter on a toasted roll. It’s decadent, take my word for it if you’ve never had one. 

Traditionally we have lobsters for New Year’s Eve and then again during the summer. This summer I tried a lobster roll with one more ingredient, lobster bisque. It was such a treat. It had never occurred to me to add anything else to my lobster roll. However, lobster bisque taught me to be a bit more lenient about the ingredients.

(Can you spot Simon?)

I was looking forward to experimenting on my own. I have to admit though, I had never made my own lobster roll. With humidity up to nearly 100% I thought it was as good a time as ever to indulge in a dish so reminiscent of summer.  

The recipe we chose included a little bit of mayo, just a splash of hot sauce and lime juice, and celery. Once again, I was pleasantly surprised. Of course what’s a lobster roll without chips or fries? It was the perfect opportunity to bake up some oven fries.

It was fun to notice how the addition of some new ingredients brought out the flavors of the lobster, a recipe I had never strayed from before. I began to wonder what other recipes could use some sprucing up.

The recipe for the lobster rolls can be found here. We steam our lobsters for about 10 minutes in a rather large steamer pot. I am quite the animal lover and I must admit I did my research on lobster cooking techniques. Joy of Cooking assures me that the lobsters feel very minimal pain, if any, in the steaming process. I can live with that. 

Oven Baked Fries

Serves about 2-3 

2 Russet baking potatoes

1 TBSP olive oil

salt and pepper to taste

Non-stick cooking spray or parchment paper

 Preheat oven to 450 F. Slice potatoes into thin strips. Place strips in bowl and toss with olive oil. Lay on a baking sheet that has been sprayed with non-stick spray or lined with parchment paper. Bake for about 25 minutes until golden brown. Season with salt and pepper.

