Kale Chips

by brookefiore

About two years ago I saw the dietitian on the Today Show make kale chips as a snacking alternative to potato chips. This lady is nuts I thought. What kind of person is going to choose kale chips over potato chips? Well folks, I have become that person. I just had to make some for myself. It’s a good thing these green chips are low in calories because I could eat the whole bunch. While steaming is the recommended cooking method to preserve the greatest amount of nutrients, steamed kale would make for a horrible chip.

Making these chips is almost as effortless of picking up a bag of potato chips from the store. But these chips are guilt-free and count as a serving of vegetables. I hope I’ve sold you on these if you’ve never tried them before. If you are still thinking, this lady is crazy well then, more kale for me! Once baked, kale is quite fragile and only good for one thing, eating! I suppose you could store in an air tight container, if they last that long.

I have to admit, I haven’t branched out into making anything else with kale but I plan to in the near future. It’s a food you sure can feel good about eating.

 Happy snacking!

Kale Chips

1 bunch of kale

Non-stick cooking spray or parchment paper

Salt to taste

Preheat oven to 350 F. Rinse and dry kale. Tear off of center stem into bite size pieces. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or spray with non-stick cooking spray. Place leaves onto sheet and bake for about 10 minutes or until slightly crisp around the edges. Sprinkle with salt and serve.

