Chowder Days

by brookefiore

If you haven’t already noticed, I have a strong tendency to associate memories with music, food, places and holidays. For me, Columbus day always meant that the trees would be at their brightest yellows, reds, and oranges, the grapevine was probably ready for wreath making and it was time for Chowder Days at the Mystic Seaport. Chowder Days has been a tradition for me that goes back as far as elementary school. It has changed over the years; moving from the boat shed to the village green, expanding the chowder selections, and varying the company I spend it with. But one thing that has not changed is that Columbus Day is one of my favorite holidays.

I know, it’s kind of strange, there are no presents involved, no tree to trim, or festive decorations to display. It is however, the welcoming of autumn, the weather is almost always beautiful, not too hot, nor too cold, and it is the perfect time for a bowl of chowder!

I love being a member of the Mystic Seaport. There is always so much to see and learn about and every time I go I get to feel like I’m stepping back in time a bit without leaving the shore behind. As a kid, I spent many summers in day camp at the seaport and thus, my steps through the seaport are always familiar.

The gardens are always immaculate and the buildings always have some new exhibit to offer. I believe that being a tourist is a state of mind and as someone who doesn’t like to leave home often, I always visit the seaport with my tourist attitude ready to roll. There is always something new to snap a photo of or a new project to check up on like the restoration of the Charles W. Morgan.

Columbus day weekend is special because you can do all this and more and have some really great food too.

This year’s visit included crab and corn chowder, lobster bisque, and clam fritters with a spicy cajun sauce.

I hope everyone is having a nice holiday weekend!

