Linguini Alfredo

by brookefiore

These days it is so simple to find inspiration for dinner recipes. A quick search on Google and the possibilities seem endless and a bit overwhelming if you ask me. As I have become more familiar with the kitchen, I continue to build my own binder of printouts and magazine clippings. As organized and useful as my binder is, one thing I can’t seem to overlook is the absence of nostalgia that comes along with the hand written recipe cards from relatives and friends that my mother has acquired over the years. Today they can be found in photo album page protectors, a perfect slot for the index cards.

These of course are not just any index cards, they house memories of years spent in the kitchen and splatters of ingredients smudge the delicate cursive directions. I may not have met the authors of the majority of these recipes since my grandmothers passed away before I was born, but by paging through these cards I am able to a feel a sense of connection through the writing and splatters to all of its contributors.

One of my favorite recipes is for Fettuccine Alfredo; but of course, butter and heavy cream leap off the page at me. Thank goodness for the ability to modify. While I keep the butter in the recipe, I do replace heavy cream with light cream. Normally I might suggest a lower fat cheese made with 2% milk but not tonight. In fact, I splurged and bought parmigiano reggiano to grate myself. There are other ways to make this dish a bit more healthy.

Besides the 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese there is virtually no protein in this dish. I solved this dilemma with some grilled chicken. While a garden salad would be a nice way to incorporate some greenery, last night I decided to mix it up and grill up some zucchini and yellow squash to toss in with the pasta.

As you may have guessed from the title of this post I also strayed when it came to the pasta selection. The wider noodles of fettuccine seemed too intrusive for what was becoming a busy pasta dish. I went with thinner linguini noodles instead.

Who says you can’t have your pasta and creamy sauce too? I’m happy to report another success in the Fiore kitchen!

Alfredo Sauce

Makes enough for one box of Boutoni Fettuccine or Linguini

1/4 cup unsalted butter

1/2 cup heavy light cream

1/2 cup parmesan cheese

salt and pepper

Melt butter and cream in a deep sauce pan over medium-low heat. Once melted, add in cheese stirring frequently to melt all of the cheese. Add in salt and pepper to taste. Toss with pasta and any other mix ins.

