Maple Pumpkin Bread

by brookefiore

While on the subject of searching the internet for recipes I want to take a moment to contradict myself. Some of the recipes I find never make it into my binder because they’re from a cook book. Ah yes, people did survive before the days of oh-so-convenient internet browsing.

Image

A few of my favorite cookbooks include the tried and true Joy of Cooking and also those cookbooks produced by the Mystic Seaport. Sometimes there is a little one liner to accompany the recipe giving you a glimpse of the history behind the dish. So while it may not be from my Grandma, it still has a history and I get to be let in on it too.

Back in September I got so excited about cooking with pumpkin I purchased about five cans of pure, organic, pureed pumpkin. Let me try my hand at this I thought to myself, and then I’ll venture into baking up a whole sugar pie pumpkin by halloween. You can bet I already have a recipe which uses the pumpkin shell for serving! Sometimes, it’s all about the presentation even if it’s just a family dinner.

Today I thought it was the perfect day to bake some maple pumpkin bread. I found the recipe in Mystic Seaport’s New England Table a tribute to updated Yankee cooking. I wanted to share something from the introduction.

Better to eat vegetables with people you love than to eat the finest meat where there is hate; better to eat a dry crust of break with a piece of mind, than have a banquet in a house of trouble.

Proverbs 15:17

While I had the intentions of making pumpkin bread, I hadn’t quite decided when I would do so. About a week ago I had picked up one of the unique ingredients, maple syrup. Now today the opportunity presented itself to bake up a loaf or two. I had missed just one other ingredient, apple sauce. A chance for modification I beamed, plain nonfat greek yogurt to the rescue! I also got to incorporate some fresh spices which we had picked up from the local spice and tea shop downtown. The original recipe also called for white flour but in true dietitian fashion, I substituted half of the white flour with whole wheat flour.

For those of you who want to get a bit fancy, I highly recommend spreading a little cream cheese on a slice or two. Happy harvesting everyone!

Maple Pumpkin Bread

Makes 2 loaves

4 eggs

2 cups sugar

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1/2 cup apple sauce plain nonfat greek yogurt

2/3 cup pure maple syrup

1 15-ounce can pumpkin

3 cups flour (1 1/2 cup each whole wheat and white flour)

2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

2 teaspoons cinnamon

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp allspice

In a medium bowl, beat eggs with a handheld mixer. Add sugar, vegetable oil, yogurt, maple syrup and pumpkin, mix well. Sift flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg and allspice. Pour liquid ingredients into flour mixture and blend until just mixed, being careful not to over-beat. Pour batter into 2 loaf pans that have been sprayed with nonstick cooking spray. Bake in a preheated 350 F oven for 1 hour or until toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. This bread may be made ahead and frozen.

