Maple Roasted Acorn Squash

by brookefiore

Yes, I am embarking on another roasted acorn squash journey. This time I used a recipe from Fine Cooking magazine for inspiration, of course I tweaked it a bit but the basis of the recipe remains the same.

 I am drawn to acorn squash because of their unique shape. A larger than life, green, white or orange acorn. I haven’t see any squirrels running off with these types of acorns though.

They can be savory, like with the balsamic recipe from this prior post, or sweet like today’s recipe. I am sure there are many other ways to bring acorn squash to the table but roasting just seems so convenient. Speaking of convenience, by lining the pan with parchment paper clean up is nearly effortless.

I must admit, this is my first season experimenting with this type of squash. The first time I picked one up at the grocery store I had no idea what I was looking for. Should it be soft to the touch like a ripe avocado, doubtful I thought. Should it be light or heavy? Does the color matter?

I’ve since learned that you should seek an acorn squash that feels heavy for its size. The orange and white varieties will have a slightly moister flesh and thinner skin than their green counterpart but any color will roast up quite nicely. The peak season is October through March though they can be grown year round.

I also love the nutty flavor that the walnuts contribute to this dish. I never have the patience to toast walnuts, pecans, or almonds. I suppose I could stash them for salad toppings but what else? If I’m going to have some for a snack, fresh out of the bag works for me. However, once squash came into the picture, it seemed like a terrific idea that I suddenly have the patience for.

Maple Roasted Acorn Squash

Serves 4

2 medium sized acorn squash

3 TBSP unsalted butter

1/4 cup pure maple syrup

1 TBSP ground ginger

4 TBSP chopped walnuts

Tsp salt

Preheat oven to 400 F and place a rack in the center of the oven. Slice a thin piece off of both ends of each squash. Cut squash in half, perpendicular to the to the ribs. Scoop out the seeds. Line a glass pan with parchment paper.Place squash halves into pan and rub with butter. Sprinkle with tsp salt.  Drizzle maple syrup over squash and into the cavity and sprinkle with ginger.

Roast squash for an hour and five minutes. Sprinkle with chopped walnuts and let roast an additional ten minutes. Serve warm.

