Toasted Pumpkin Seeds

by brookefiore

 

I must start off by sincerely apologizing for the leave of absence from my site. I have several good excuses but mainly I have Hurricane Sandy to blame because she knocked out our power for the last six days. Not only did this prevent me from accessing the internet to post my cooking adventures but there was a total lack of said cooking adventures because I just wasn’t crazy about cooking on a propane camper stove atop the kitchen table! 

That being said, last night by shear miracle, a great group of folks from an Oklahoma power company restored our power! I bid farewell to cold showers, wet hair, and most importantly my hiatus from the kitchen. The romantic feel of dining by candle light and snuggling up on the couch under blankets surely lost its appeal after two days of no power and overnight lows of thirty degrees.

So back into the kitchen I went, the first recipe on deck was toasted pumpkin seeds. After all, Halloween had come and gone, the pumpkins had been carved by the light of candles, and the seeds sat idle awaiting a working oven.

This recipe is very simple, but the finished product is a delightful snack all on its own and a nice addition to salads. The tough outer shell is a great source of fiber, and the seeds inside, which are also called pepitas, are full of maganese, zinc, and protein! You may not know that a zinc deficiency can lead to decreased taste acuity, not a good thing if you ask me! The nutty flavor can be played up with a bit of salt and cayenne pepper for a savory snack or a little cinnamon and sugar can make a sweet treat. 

Toasted Unshelled Pumpkin Seeds 

Washed and drained unshelled seeds from a pumpkin.

Olive oil

Your choice of seasonings including but not limited to: 

salt, cayenne pepper, cinnamon, sugar.

Preheat oven to 300 F. Dry the seeds with paper towels and toss to coat with a splash of olive oil. Spread an even layer of seeds on a baking sheet and sprinkle with your chosen seasonings. Bake for about 30 minutes.

