Peanut Butter Banana Breakfast Muffins

by brookefiore

Fortunately, I have always been a morning person. I find that I am most productive in the morning, I love catching the sunrise, and breakfast is my favorite meal. Since starting my new job I’ve given up a few things, long morning showers and watching the Today show are two that come to mind. On the bright side (literally), I see the sun rise and set  on my drive Monday through Friday, I feel a sense of accomplishment and satisfaction from my job, and I am finally figuring out that work life balance thing. 

That being said, I have found that I don’t have time to sit down and have breakfast in the morning. It’s ironic because I hear this from my patients day after day. Hence, fast food breakfast sandwiches, sugar-laden coffee shop creations, and instant breakfast shakes. While the latter isn’t such a bad option, the former two are options I just won’t succumb to. It’s about time I start taking my own advice and come up with some on-the-go breakfast choices. Last week I experimented with smoothies that I would blend up the night before and bring in the car with me. I am still perfecting this recipe as I’m struggling with consistency and watered-down disappointment. 

I then tried something really quick and easy. Although cereal is a great choice especially with some skim milk and fun toppings like nuts, flax, and pomegranate seeds, it doesn’t travel well and its cold. Isn’t it bad enough that the moon is still out when I leave the house and Jack Frost is already frequenting the pre-dawn air? Cold cereal just doesn’t warm my heart in times like these. 

Enter: The Breakfast Muffin! I have made several higher-fiber muffins in the past but this weekend I decided to try and create my own. I turned to Pinterest for some inspiration. I found an oat filled banana muffin recipe that peaked my interest.

I wanted to up the fiber content which meant I would also need to increase the moisture and while I was at it I decided to add a little extra protein too, in the form of peanut butter. 

Although I won’t know until Monday, I have a good feeling these muffins are going to help solve my working girl breakfast woes in the form of whole grains, calcium, and protein of course!

Peanut Butter Banana Breakfast Muffins

Makes 18

2 1/2 cups old fashioned oats

1/3 cup milled flax seed

1/3 cup peanut butter

2 ripe bananas

3/4 cup sugar

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

2 eggs

10 oz non-fat Greek yogurt (vanilla, honey, or plain – or a mix!) 

Preheat oven to 400F. Place all ingredients except 1 1/3 cups of the oats into the food processor blend until combined and then add in the remaining oats and blend again. Spoon into lined muffin tins and bake for 18-20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Serve or freeze.

