Sweet Potato Pumpkin Puree

by brookefiore

 I know it probably seems like every other post on here is about pumpkins, and it most likely appears that we because it is that way. This season I’ve been whipping up just about anything that I can stick some pumpkin into but my ultimate goal was to experiment with Sugar Pie pumpkins not just the canned stuff. So with the help of my father I was able to pull off this sweet puree. The initial roasting takes about an hour and a half and in my house we usually eat around six so I knew I would need to get the pumpkin and sweet potato roasting early. I left explicit instructions for my father and he complied! 

It was fantastic, I came home to the sweet smell and a tray of roasted goodness awaiting the next steps in the process. I broke out my beloved food processor and got to zesting some orange. Initially I was drawn to the recipe for the cuteness factor of using one of the pumpkins as the serving dish. At this point in time I will also find just about any excuse to turn on my food processor.

 

I did have some reservations about the title though, puree usually brings up unpleasant memories of pureed chicken in a mold and one of my internship projects where I spent a little too much time in the freezer with the pureed food packages. I am happy to report that this autumnal side dish has since replaced these not-so-found recipes with a warmer, tastier one.

I found this recipe in an issue of Fine Cooking Magazine.

Pumpkin and Sweet Potato Puree with Orange and Thyme

(or in my case just orange because we didn’t have any thyme)

Serves about 4

2 TBSP melted butter; more for the baking sheet

1 small sugar pie pumpkin

1 medium sugar pie pumpkin (about 2 to 2 1/4 lb)

1 large sweet potato

2 TBSP light brown sugar

1 tsp finely grated orange zest

1 tsp minced thyme

salt and pepper 

Position a rack in the center of the oven and preheat to 375 F. Generously butter a rimmed baking sheet. Cut the small pumpkin in half lengthwise and put it side down on the baking sheet. Cut a 1/2 inch lid from the stem end of the medium pumpkin and put both pieces cut side down on the baking sheet. Cut the sweet potato in half lengthwise and place cut side down on the same baking sheet. Cover tightly with foil and bake about 2 1/2 hours. Let stand until cool enough to handle.

Scoop the seeds from the halved pumpkin and discard seeds. Remove skin and put flesh in a food processor. Peel the sweet potato and add flesh to food processor with butter, sugar, orange zest and thyme. Puree until smooth and season with salt and pepper.

Scoop the seeds from the larger pumpkin, leaving shell and flesh intact. Season the inside of the pumpkin with salt and pepper, transfer puree into pumpkin and top with the lid. Put the pumpkin on the baking sheet and bake until heated through about 20 to 40 minutes. If you cannot fit all of the puree in the pumpkin place remaining puree in a baking dish and cover, bake alongside pumpkin. Transfer to a plate and serve, spooning puree from the pumpkin.

