Smoky Sweet Potato Burgers

by brookefiore

An early morning walk is a blessing for the whole day.

Henry David Thoreau

Image

I am fortunate because writing has always come easily to me. I write for pleasure, I write to unwind, I write for no one but myself. I don’t write to accomplish anything in particular and I rarely write with purpose, but in the end I always seem to end up with a nice little package of words that I figuratively tie up in some twine and present to you, readers, as my gift. If I thought about who would be reading this or what they might think I would likely abandon the words for fear of rejection or criticism. That is why I write for me and at best, maybe one or two will enjoy it as well.

Image

Colds are a cruel thing. Stealing energy and wreaking havoc on joints and sinuses alike. Colds creep up like a chill in the morning and knock you down with sneezes and coughs until you’re up to your ears in wadded up tissues, your only defense, that wall of tissues. And with that, a tingling in your nose sends the whole pile reeling and you’re back to square one and a bottle of NyQuil. This past week I’ve been fighting off a very stubborn cold, I say this like it’s unique but I think stubbornness might just be a prerequisite for all colds in the making.

Image

As an aside, I assure you I wake up every morning, put two feet on the ground and breathe a sigh of relief (be it a congested one as of late) for my health and happiness. One of the most cruel things about my run-in with cold season is my muted sense of smell and therefore taste. This time of year has so many nostalgic and magical scents to offer and at the moment I am missing out. Once I was through the thick of it though, the days where simple tasks were even difficult and bed time came shortly after the sun went down – this time of year thats about five o’clock – I was able to fight back. I had had enough of carrying around multiple beverages for hydration, a box of tissues, and hand sanitizer. I was ready to pack these items to-go, bundle up in knitted goodness and head into the woods. An attempt at ignoring my cold after a few days of letting it take me over felt pretty good.

Image

And once I felt as though I was truly on the outs with it, I decided to head back to kitchen, with a recipe full of flavor even my muted tastebuds couldn’t ignore.

This burger is certainly not your average beef patty, in fact there isn’t any beef in sight. Don’t get me wrong, I love a good steak now and again, but this was a nice alternative. Full of fiber with additions like beans, whole wheat flour and bread crumbs, and nestled amongst a whole wheat bun this burger can make you feel good about eating it too.

Image

Image

I never knew what all the hype was about with smoked paprika but this burger will have you adding it to your spice rack if it isn’t already a welcomed guest.

Image

The recipe can be found here. I modified it slightly, using only have the garlic but otherwise I found this recipe quite satisfying.

Here’s to health & hearty meals!

