Sea Scallops and Brussels Sprouts

by brookefiore

DSC_0109

As a single footstep will not make a path on the earth, so a single thought will not make a pathway in the mind. To make a deep physical path, we walk again and again. To make a deep mental path, we must think over and over the kind of thoughts we wish to dominate our lives. 

                                                                                                                                   Henry David Thoreau

DSC_0078They say money can’t buy happiness, and they say that one who puts too much emphasis on material goods makes one materialistic, shallow, and perhaps dull. These two mantras have always made me wonder. I wonder who is they, and how did they come to such conclusions. But I also wonder about the exceptions and then I quickly forget about these mantras because I don’t really care for such definitive statements.

DSC_0009

A renewed interest in photography initially left me frustrated and unfulfilled. I would venture out with my point-and-shoot Canon only to fret. But then I realized that above all frustration and grainy, unsatisfactory photographs I was a happier person. I was happier because I was doing something that I had loved and lost touch with.

DSC_0003

It wasn’t my exquisite DSLR camera that turned me on to photography, nor was it the thing that reinstated my passion; for that would probably warrant materialism. Instead, my camera has become a material good that has allowed for experimentation and growth. Growth for my hobby and growth for myself as an individual.

DSC_0012

I sometimes find myself wondering how I used to spend weekends if not searching for landscapes and other various creative outlets; the way I tend to spend my weekends nowadays. It’s strange to think about how fascinating I find both old habits and new discoveries. Old habits are stitched with nostalgia and new discoveries are bountiful with opportunity.


DSC_0016

It’s a beautiful thing, the opportunity to bring some of my favorite things together, photography, location and food. Recently I discovered a new spot to visit and a new food to incorporate into dinner. Fortunately enough, my camera was ready to shoot.

DSC_0015

It’s especially exciting when I discover new things in “my own backyard” so to speak. I’ve lived in the same town for my entire life and I’ve lived in the same house, slept in the same room. But twenty-three years later I am still finding the new in the familiar. The new and familiar can occur in many settings, specifically the grocery store and my hometown.

DSC_0018

Brussels sprouts evoke so many reactions in people, from he fond to the fearful and I must admit, I have had minimal encounters with this cruciferous vegetable. However,  after a day poking around the shores of Stonington and coming across a recipe for brussels sprouts and sea scallops I felt I couldn’t go wrong. And I didn’t.

DSC_0062

The recipe I used, which I modified only slightly, can be found here. For those who are interested, I used slightly less olive oil and butter than the original recipe called for, and I added bacon for an additional layer of flavor.

