Into the Woods

by brookefiore

When you plant seeds in the garden you don’t dig them up everyday to see if they have sprouted yet. You simply water them and and clear away the weeds; you know that the seeds will grow in time. Similarly, just do you daily practice and cultivate a kind heart. Abandon impatience and instead be content creating the causes for goodness; the results will come when they are ready.

Bhikshuni Thubten Chodron

After days of playing victim to the evil cold and flu season once more I was antsy to get outside and get back behind my camera’s lens. I wasn’t looking to go too far from home, but I was looking for new vistas and unfamiliar paths.wood1

As much as I love bright expressions of color, lately I find myself drawn to the earthen hues that can only be found when the leaves have parted and the snow has melted away. As a neutral blur beyond the car’s window, the vast amount of variations of brown and green reveal their unique beauty only upon a closer look.
wood2

I was feeling patient, and I wanted to manipulate my camera’s unfamiliar settings a thousand times to see what kinds of images I could capture to take back with me, to tuck away for rainy days.wood3I’ve compiled a few of my favorite barks and braches, decay and fluid movement. I hope you enjoy them even half as much as I enjoyed capturing them.

 

