Parsnip and Carrot Chips

by brookefiore

If we magnified out successes as much as we magnify our disappointments we’d all be much happier.

Abraham Lincoln

DSC_0147Sometimes I think that in a perfect world I would be able to watch the sun rise every morning, take a walk in the woods or along the shore, take lots of pictures, use my Kitchen Aide mixer daily, chase the sunset, visit the both the beach and the mountains, make delicious hearty dinners, frequent my craft basket, master the art of calligraphy, and take a nice bath with good smelling candles only to cuddle up in clean sheets with my favorite fuzzy blanket and kitten afterwards. I would spend the minutes and hours in between catching up with friends and creating memories with my family. These are the things I think about when I think of my perfect world.

DSC_0195

It only takes a few moments though, and I quickly realize that in fact this would only be perfect for a brief second. I crave structure, I need to work inorder to stay sane, I love getting to know new people and I would dearly miss the ever-evolving world of nutrition. I then rush to think of a way to fit all of this into a revised perfect world.

DSC_0173

Instead of ever succeeding in this impossible task, I remind myself that my “world” is made up of many consecutive days. How fortunate I am that I have the time to do all of these wonderful things; I have come to realize that they just can’t happen all the time, or everyday. I become relieved when I remember this.

DSC_0187

So instead, I try to do at least one thing each day that I would consider a part of my perfect world. The great thing I have come to realize is that most everyday I manage to squeeze more than just a few of these ideals into my life. I also have learned that the more I appreciate, the more I cultivate an attitude of gratefulness and optimism the more I seem to squeeze out of the passing hours.

DSC_0151

One of the most recent discoveries that brightened up my day was a post I came across a few months ago that I finally got to try out. Parsnip Carrot Chips. The sweet and salty crunch is so satisfying, the calories are negligible, the fiber is abundant and can’t we all use a bit more veggies in our life? I like to think so.

DSC_0179

Of course, in order to prepare these chips I needed to pick up a “Y” shaped veggie peeler, and this meant visiting my favorite kitchen store of all time. I wasn’t complaining one bit.

DSC_0196

The only complaint about this quick bite? They’ll disappear in the mouths of friends and family faster than you can say vegetable.

Parsnip and Carrot Chips

Several carrots and parsnips, washed and peeled

Salt and pepper to taste

Olive oil

Preheat oven to 325F and spray two baking sheets with non-stick cooking spray. After washing and peeling the skin off a few carrots and parsnips, use a “Y” shaped vegetable peeler to peel the carrots and parsnips into long, thin strips. Place into a bowl and toss with just a bit of olive oil. Add salt and pepper as desired. Spread the strips out onto cookie sheets and bake for about 30 minutes, turning the strips over 2 to 3 times during cooking. Watch the chips carefully towards the end of cooking to avoid burning.

 

