Shrimp and Couscous with Yogurt Hummus

by brookefiore

DSC_0026

When it comes to photography, workdays and wintertime are just a bit inconvenient. I awake before the sun rises, I pull into my driveway as the sun sinks to its knees beyond the rolling tides of Long Island Sound. This of course gives me approximately six minutes to snap a few photos of my cooking before I face the tungsten lighting frustration that comes with nighttime, indoor photography.

DSC_0012

 DSC_0013

And unfortunately, six minutes does not allow me to prepare a satisfactory meal, nor does it allow for tinkering with white balance, shutter speed, and aperture. So where does this leave me? Sometimes it leaves me bouncing around the kitchen, spoons and ingredients flying, on a Sunday afternoon. Other times it means delicious blog-worthy meals never make it for publishing due to yellowish tint, unappealing shadows, and my never ending quest for a quality photograph.

DSC_0017

Fortunately, I tend to persevere despite growing frustration, as that frustration evaporates like steam when I realize that somehow I have captured a decent photograph beneath the unforgiving glow of table lamps and kitchen lights. I also cannot help but melt at the thought of springtime florals, days growing longer, and the fact that I really would change much about my workdays.

DSC_0021

DSC_0010
As you may or may not know, I have a real fondness for shrimp. In our house, we call them “little protein buddies.” Despite the initial shelling and de-veining that one must endure, the end product always outweighs the labor of preparation. Speaking of preparation, aside from a little protein buddy cleanup, this recipe is fairly low maintenance, low calorie, high fiber and delicious to boot!

DSC_0029

Shrimp and Couscous with Yogurt Hummus

Serves 4

Ingredients

1 cup whole wheat couscous

1/3 cup dried apricots, chopped

2 tablespoons olive oil, divided

1/2 cup non-fat plain Greek yogurt

1 tablespoon hummus

2 tablespoons chopped fresh mint or dill

salt

1 pound jumbo shrimp, peeled and deveined, tails removed

1 cup cherry tomatoes, halved

1/4 teaspoon smoked paprika

2 TBSP fresh lemon juice

1 TBSP lemon rind

Directions

Combine the couscous, apricots, lemon rind and 1 tablespoon of the olive oil in a bowl. Add 1 1/4 cups boiling water, cover with plastic wrap and let sit until all of the water is absorbed and the couscous is tender, about 5 minutes.

In a small serving bowl, mix yogurt, hummus, mint and 1 tablespoon. Season with salt and refrigerate until ready to serve.

Preheat broiler to high. Toss the shrimp, tomatoes, 1 tablespoon olive oil and paprika together. Spread out on a broiling pan and broil until the shrimp are opaque and cooked through, about 6 minutes. Drizzle with the lemon juice.

Fluff the couscous with a fork before serving. If any drippings from the broiling pan remain, add them to the yogurt-hummus sauce. Serve the shrimp over couscous with sauce on the side.

 

 

 

 

 

 

