Mini Crustless Quiches

by brookefiore

Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find that all was vanity; but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act their dream with open eyes, and make it possible.

T.E Lawrence

DSC_0042

One of the many reasons I love a day off, be it a weekend or weekday is for the love of mornings. I love waking up with the sun light, grabbing a coffee from the Market rather than my Kueirg, the opportunity to let my hair air dry a bit before succumbing to the blow torch (err hair dryer), but mostly I love the opportunity to prepare a nice breakfast. Through high school, college and even my internship I had the luxury of time in the morning to pull breakfast together before shoving off to the next awaiting task.

DSC_0014

DSC_0017

 Unfortunately at present, a lengthy commute and the desire to avoid the migraine of heavy traffic, means I have forfeited the opportunity to scuffle around the kitchen, among french toast bubbling in the fry pan, oats harmonizing with cinnamon and milk, and tediously carving out grapefruit, ensuring every last drop of fresh juice makes it to my lips.

DSC_0025

I still find mornings peaceful and quite enjoy them. I have recently started my mornings even earlier than I thought possible, allowing time for a spin on the bike. I will forever marvel at the amount of energy and happiness I gain from exercise in exchange for an earlier bed time and yes, a 4AM wake up call.

DSC_0040

I believe that 4AM is my limit, unless I were to be boarding a plane, I completely lack the desire to rise any earlier. And quite frankly, I lack an appetite much before six anyway. I’ve been working my current schedule now for about four months and I believe I have finally found a satisfactory breakfast on-the-go. I’ve even managed to sneak some warmth and some veggies in. You really can’t argue with that.

DSC_0044


DSC_0047

Mini Crustless Quiches

Adapted from Well Balanced.Food.Life.Travel Blog

Makes 6

1 1/2 cups shredded or chopped vegetables (I chose broccoli and carrots but some shredded potato, thinly sliced red pepper or grated zucchini would be nice too)

1 cup spinach

5 eggs

1/4 cup skim milk

salt and pepper to taste

1/2 cup shredded, low fat cheddar cheese

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and prepare a muffin tin with non-stick cooking spray. In about 2 tsp of olive oil, saute the vegetables in a skillet over medium heat for about 5 minutes. Add the spinach and cook until wilted. Transfer and divide evenly into 6 muffin tin cups.

Meanwhile, whisk the eggs, milk, cheese, salt and pepper in a medium bowl until combined. Pour into each muffin cup, filling about 3/4 of the way full. Bake for 30 minutes. Use a knife around the edges to remove from the pan. Place in the fridge or freezer. Microwave for about 45 seconds and place onto your favorite roll or pita pocket (ideally whole grain of course! For the sake of time, I grabbed some baguette for this photo shoot) for a nice warm on-the-go breakfast.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

