Cranberry Flax Muffins

by brookefiore

DSC_0031In the past year, I’ve made some really big strides in the kitchen. I’m not sure why it was that I didn’t familiarize myself with the kitchen sooner, but I’m sure glad I have now. After years and years of watching food network, I have finally taken on some recipes of my own. And now, I rarely watch food network because I’d rather be in the kitchen, experimenting and executing meals, instead of sitting down, watching someone else cook.

DSC_0024

Unfortunately, I’ve been called a food snob, but I’d really call it more of a food skeptic. This is something I can be proud of. I know a big part of this comes from my education in dietetics. I know a great deal about food, the science of food, the misinformation on food, the benefits and preventative effects as well as the detrimental effects of food. And so I trust few others to prepare an equally satisfying, healthy meal, snack, dessert. But of course, I’ve identified a few.

DSC_0001

I wish I could say I don’t let the misconceptions about food get to me, but now and again I hear a remark from a family or friend (and sometimes a total stranger) and I cringe. I want to correct them, I want to inform and educate them. The misconceptions about dieting seem to get under my skin the most.

DSC_0029

 I know that for the rest of my life I will watch what I eat, and watch my weight, while thinking about and taking control of what I let past my lips. I also know that I really like to cook, and I also love to bake. Some people think that “being on a diet” means that they can’t have baked goods. In fact, a realistic, healthy diet, one that is meant to instill lifetime eating habits, improving a person’s relationship with food while maintaining (or losing) weight certainly can include sweet treats.

I want to feel good about the food I eat. I don’t want to feel deprived. I want to have my cake and eat it too. I know I’m not alone here.

DSC_0010

And so I bring you, cranberry flax muffins. These muffins provide the satisfaction of a baked good with sweetness, while sneaking in some beneficial fiber and quite frankly, they make for a nice accompaniment for my afternoon cup of tea.

Cranberry Flax Muffins

Adapted from The Pastry Affair.

Yields 12 muffins

3/4 cup (95 grams) all-purpose flour
3/4 cup (90 grams) whole wheat flour
1/2 cup (53 grams) milled flax
1/3 cup (66 grams) brown sugar, packed
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 large egg
1/4 cup (60 ml) canola oil
1 cup (235 ml) 1% milk
1 cup (120 grams) dried cranberries (or any other dried fruit, think cherries, apricots or a mixture…)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and prepare a muffin tin with non-stick cooking spray.

Whisk together the flours, milled flax, brown sugar, cinnamon, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a large bowl. Make a well in the center of the bowl and add the egg, vegetable oil, and milk, mixing until combined. Gently stir in the dried fruit.

Pour the batter evenly between the baking cups, filling each about 3/4 full. Bake for 18-22 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

