Roasted Veggie Wraps

by brookefiore

DSC_0071

Though I walked a fine line of near misery this weekend, I am happy to report that I successfully survived the historical blizzard, in a house with no electricity and no heat for the better part of the weekend. This of course did not mean that there was any lack of cooking.

DSC_0072

I am tempted to glamorize this for you all, and tell you I dined on roasted veggie wraps, sipped on chilled white wine, a bottle freshly plucked from the snow pile, in front of a roaring fireplace.

DSC_0074

DSC_0075

In fact, I will tell you this because this did really happen. But I must be honest and tell you I was adorned in a winter hat and wool socks at all times and I was usually muttering something about the cold that had settled quite suddenly over our home as the lights went out.

DSC_0118

It was not until late Sunday, when the electricity was restored, that I was truly able to see and marvel at the down comforter of snow that had coated most every viable surface as far as the eye could see.

DSC_0061

DSC_0114

The roads looked like something out of an Alaskan landscape, the trees laid down to rest under ice and snow-ridden branches and the birds, oh the birds were just giddy with the sudden abundance of berries brought to the ground and the generosity of a certain someone who kept the black oiled sunflower seed flowing and suet aplenty.

DSC_0108

I was unable to adequately document most of my cooking endeavors as the glow of the hearth just does not do the trick and the temptation of a hot meal was too enticing to illicit a full photo session.

Quinoa cooking

I will leave you with this. Don’t ever let anyone tell you that you cannot cook quinoa tacos in the dark. A camping stove saved me and my sanity this weekend. I will post the recipe soon, when I am able to actually capture this meal under adequate lighting. For now, I will share my roasted veggie wrap.

Roasted Veggie Wraps

Serves 2

 2 whole wheat wraps of your choice

about 2 cups of spinach, washed and spun dry

2 cups of chopped vegetables, your pick (I chose carrots and broccoli because thats what we had on hand)

1 TBSP olive oil

1-2 TBSP goat cheese

For the glaze (this will make extra which can be easily stored in a jar for future use):

1/2 cup balsamic vinegar

1-2 TBSP light brown sugar

 I would recommend preheating and oven to 375F and tossing the chopped vegetables with the olive oil. Spread out on a baking sheet and roast until for tender, about 20 minutes. However, given my resources, I used a cast iron skillet over medium heat to saute the vegetables about 10 minutes, until soft but still with a bit of crunchiness or to your liking.

In a small cast iron skillet over medium heat, heat the balsamic vinegar and brown sugar, stirring frequently until the mixture has reduced in volume by about half. Remove from heat to a small bowl.

Assemble wrap with roasted vegetables, goat cheese and spinach. Drizzle with balsamic glaze and enjoy!

