Blueberry Coffee Cake

by brookefiore

With or without a valentine at my side, I have always liked valentine’s day. It’s an excuse to be crafty and make cards, and break out the glitter. I happen to like red and pink hues. And for some reason, I always remember this day quite well.

DSC_0122

I remember the year in elementary school that we decorated card board boxes to act as envelopes for the valentines that we would receive from our classmates. I remember in first grade when one girl decided to only give Valentines out to her true friends and I was devastated when I couldn’t find her really cool, jeweled card in my shoe box.

DSC_0113

I remember the year that my mother and I went shoe shopping and she joked about finding a boy for me in one of the store aisles. I found the shoes I was looking for and I recall this day like it was yesterday. I was 14, and without a valentine, but it didn’t matter.

DSC_0126

I remember the year my mother was sick in the hospital and she sent my father out to the store to find me small heart lollipops from Whyevernot downtown, I had had my eye on them. I then went to her best friend’s house – she may as well be my second mother – and we made chocolate dipped strawberries together. Though my mother hospitalized, she wanted to make sure I still had a good day.

DSC_0111

I remember various quirky gifts scattered through the years like those red and pink balloons that adorned the quaint tavern ceiling the year I spent valentine’s day with some of my close friends, sipping wine and trading stories.

DSC_0127

I won’t walk you through all twenty four years of my valentine’s day memories, I will however leave you with one sweet treat. Ironically, no chocolate is involved. And quite frankly, I wasn’t planning on baking anything for valentine’s day this year. However, I was asked to make a cake for one of my mother’s coworkers and the heavenly smell that drifted about the kitchen as the cake was baking had me whipping up a second cake for our own enjoyment.

DSC_0128

Roses are red, violets are blue, here’s the blueberry coffee cake recipe for you too. But truth is, I prefer tulips!

Blueberry Coffee Cake

Adapted heavily from The Eating Well Dessert Cookbook & Pastry Affair Blog

Cake

1 egg

1/2 cup buttermilk

1/2 cup non fat plain greek yogurt

1/4 cup canola oil

1/2 cup dark brown sugar

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

Pinch of salt

1 1/2 cup blueberries (fresh or frozen – I used frozen given the time of year)

Preheat oven to 400F. Lightly grease a bundt pan or a large cast iron skillet.

In a large bowl, add the egg, buttermilk, yogurt, oil, and brown sugar and whisk until completely combined. Fold in the flours, baking powder, and salt, stirring just until mixed. Be careful not to over mix or you will be left with a tough cake. Fold in the blueberries and transfer batter to the prepared pan.

Almond Crumble

1/4 cup light brown sugar

1/4 cup sliced almonds

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

¼ cup unsweetened coconut flakes

In a small bowl, combine all ingredients until mixed. Sprinkle over the top of the batter.

Bake for 20-25 minutes (or 30-35 minutes if using frozen blueberries) Run a knife around the edge of the cake and let cool for 10 minutes in pan before flipping onto a plate. Serve hot or room temperature.

Happy Valentine’s Day!

