Roasted Sweet (Chick) Peas

by brookefiore

DSC_0004

It amazes me how quickly and effortlessly the subjects of my posts evolve from ideas to paragraphs and photographs. A steady stream with a winding queue of entrees, treats and crafts awaiting the accompaniment of some kind words. One of my primary hesitations about starting up a blog was a fear of writer’s block and forced creativity. I’ve pleasantly surprised myself with quite the contrary.

DSC_0001

Sometimes I think about future projects and recipes (interchangeable at best) while I’m exercising, and other times it’s the could-be, would-be monotonous drive down I-95 into a sky set ablaze that awakens my mind to new ideas and potential postings at the end of day well spent tending to patients.

I’ve had a desire to make up a batch of satisfactory roasted chickpeas for a few months now, not without hesitation though. I might go as far to say they’re trendy, something I would normally shy away from. While I don’t strive to reinvent the wheel, I certain prefer to contribute some of my personality to most recipes and endeavors, which can prove to be difficult when every foodie out there is roasting up chick peas (and likely posting about them).

DSC_0007

I attempted a smoky and a sweet batch a few weeks ago, I think impatience played a role in the slightly soggy, less than optimal batch of smoky chick peas. The sweet version was close, but still left me wanting a bit more. More flavor, more personality maybe? I struggled to figure out what I was looking for.

But one fine Sunday afternoon, without any rhyme or reason, I stumbled on some renewed hope for success in the chick pea arena.

Luckily, I had kept a can on hand for the spare-of-the-moment inkling I predicted would come. It’s nice to know thy self, isn’t it?

DSC_0003

I also have a bag of dry chick peas, ready for soaking on a day with a bit more time to spare. However, when well-rinsed, the canned version can certainly suffice.

DSC_0010

Though I am still working on a spicy/smoky version, this sweet recipe has gotten me one step closer to wrangling a take on such a popular snack, and with it’s fiber and protein content, I certainly support its snacking capabilities.

Roasted Sweet (Chick) Peas

1- 15oz canned chick peas (also known as garbanzo beans)

1 1/2 TBSP olive oil

1 TBSP maple syrup

1 TBSP honey (preferably local)

1/2 tsp salt, a dash of pepper

2 TBSP sesame seeds

Preheat oven to 375F (I suppose 400F could work with alternate cooking times but we also had a roast going and I was committed to 375F). Prepare a baking sheet with parchment paper. Thoroughly rinse the chick peas in a colander and pat dry with a paper towel. Transfer onto prepared baking sheet, spread in a thin layer. Roast for about 30 minutes, until dry.

 Mix olive oil, maple syrup, honey, salt, and pepper in a medium bowl. Add the roasted chick peas after initial baking and toss to evenly coat. Return chick peas to baking sheet, sprinkle with sesame seeds and roast for another 20 to 25 minutes, stirring about 10 minutes into cooking. Test for optimum crunchiness and caramelization starting at 21 minutes. A crunch similar to wasabi peas was the crunch I was after, which was achieved at 24 minutes.

Feel free to comment, as I am open to any suggestions for a spicy version!

