Pistachio Crusted Salmon with Broccoli Pesto

by brookefiore

It’s relatively early for a Saturday in my book. I awoke at my regular time; and four am still appeared as four am does, with a very faint rainbow, the makings of a sunrise on the horizon. I took a deep breath and crawled back under the sheets, for today I can sleep in.

DSC_0027

 It’s a balance though, an uncomfortable battle in my mind. I want to be rested and I want to sleep in, but when I awake and it’s ten in the morning I feel I have missed the best parts of the morning, with only two hours left. I get out of bed already wearing a blanket of angst because I couldn’t get up at seven or eight like I would have wanted to.


DSC_0007

But this morning is different. I awoke again at seven, three hours of sleeping in felt pleasantly sufficient and I drew back the curtain. The way the dim grey light of a cloudy day floated onto my floor was euphoric.

 On Wednesday the radio voice filled my car with words of spring making it’s approach in one month’s time. I have found so many things to love about winter I don’t want to sound hypocritical here. But I just love the spring.  If you are any sort of follower to my page then you likely have just realized I have a deep, undying love for all seasons.

DSC_0013

 It’s as if they are my four pseudo-children, and I couldn’t possibly love one any more than another but I love them for reasons so different from each other.

DSC_0009

I look forward to new faces taking seeds from the bird feeder. Flowers shooting up in unexpected grassy mounds, replacing snowy drifts. Greens and blues and pastels of Easter. The strong desire to implement traditions in the celebration of spring.  But for now, I will relish in the final days of winter, for they hold a beauty that will melt away with the snow and ice.

DSC_0015

Salmon is a fish I enjoy all throughout the year, though its garnishes tend to vary based on the season. I think of mustard’s tangy sauce in the fall, walnut honey dressing in the winter. I find it difficult to think of salmon in the summer, for there is fresh flounder and striped bass to dine on docks. Recently I discovered a recipe that I think will be just perfect for the springtime. A fresh take on basil pesto, thanks to broccoli. A  salty crunch of chopped pistachios. Who can argue with that coral salmon flesh anyway, it wears it so well.

DSC_0026

Pistachio Crusted Salmon with Broccoli Pesto

Adapted from With Style and Grace Blog and Sodium Girl’s Limitless Low Sodium Cookbook

Serves 2 (but can be easily doubled by adding to additional salmon fillets, the pesto remains unchanged)

3/4 cup pistachios, shelled

1 garlic clove 1 cup broccoli florets, stems trimmed

1 cup fresh basil, washed and patted dry

3 TBSP olive oil

2 (generous) TBSP pine nuts 2 salmon fillets

Preheat oven to 375F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and lay the salmon, skin side down, onto it. Set aside.

Add the pistachios to your food processor and pulse until chopped. Transfer to a small bowl and set aside.

Add garlic, olive oil, basil, broccoli and pine nuts to your food processor and pulse until pureed but still chunky.

Using a spoon or a small rubber spatula, transfer the pesto to the salmon fillets, covering the top surface, be generous, as you will have leftovers should you choose to keep the serving size to just two.

Using your fingers (or the back of a small spoon), press the pistachios onto the pesto.

Place the baking pan of salmon into the oven to bake for about 12 minutes.

DSC_0032

Remove and serve over salad, pasta, rice, etc. We chose to serve over a bed of couscous with a side of roasted asparagus.

