Whole Wheat Crepes

by brookefiore

DSC_0012For one reason or another, the work week always has me bustling and buzzing, ah the life of a working girl. If I’m not careful, the weekend can be just as hectic in the form of tying up loose ends of the week, only to have to prepare the beginnings of a brand new week ahead.

DSC_0009

It might take a bit of work to slow it down on the weekend, but it’s well worth the conscientious effort.

DSC_0015

Remember that post when I mentioned my efforts of incorporating a bit of the things that I love into each and every day? I’m still at it. Every. Single. Day. And the best part is…it’s working.

DSC_0033

My good mood is the option I choose every single morning. A bump in the road, spilled coffee, a detour on my drive in to work, these tests of attitude are fierce. Some mornings I want to throw in the towel, call it a bad day and grumble on through. I choose not to though, for the sun hasn’t even risen yet. There is so much time to redirect my day and cultivate happiness in ways both big and small.

DSC_0006

Sometimes I like to think that the weekends are my time to build up my energy – and my happiness – reserves to stow away for the days when my mood is challenged to withstand obstacles and negativity. On days like these, I can take a mind retreat back to a relaxing Sunday morning, filled with crepes, bursting at the seams with berries and creme.

DSC_0022

Though these berries are not fresh from the farms of Maple Lane as they would be in July, they are still sweet and juicy from the California coast. These berries remind me that the days of harvesting them myself will come again soon. I think of making these crepes when the sun is truly warm and the misty mornings of August are spent sipping coffee overlooking a low stretch of fog, resting on sail boat masts. Mornings when the low tone of the channel marker is barely audible but we know it’s there. Just like we know that relaxing weekends and berry season will come again.

DSC_0024

Whole Wheat Crepes

Adapted from Well Balanced.Food.Life.Travel Blog

Makes about 5

For the crepes:

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

2 tsp granulated sugar

3/4 cup skim milk

2 eggs

1 1/2 TBSP unsalted butter, melted

1 tsp vanilla extract

Fillings of your choice! As you can see, this morning was one of blueberries, strawberries, a few chocolate chips and some freshly whipped cream.

Place all ingredients for the crepes into a blender and blend for 1-2 minutes. Let sit for 15 minutes.

Meanwhile, heat a small drizzle of canola oil in a cast iron skillet over medium heat. Add 1/4-1/2 cup of crepe mixture and swirl pan so that the batter evenly coats the bottom of the pan in a thin layer.

Cook for about 1 minute and carefully flip over. Cook for about another minute and transfer to plate.

 Fill as desired.

 

 

 

 

 

 

