Chia Seed Pudding

by brookefiore

I’ve got to be honest, when I hear the words “super food” I cringe a little bit. It makes me want to roll my eyes, and I would roll my eyes, except I’ve been on this kick now for about six months where I’ve been making a real, conscious effort to not roll my eyes. I’m not about to let some super food come along and mess up my efforts.

DSC_0101

Personally, it sounds like our world has evolved to include the nerds, the jocks, and the super foods. I’m just not a fan of such grouping. It’s quite common that I enjoy, and consume these so-called super foods on a regular basis, I just choose to call upon them in a less trendy fashion. I’m also a skeptic. Slap a superfood sticker on it and I will think extra hard about whether or not this food is really packing the nutrition punch that it now claims.


DSC_0099

Back in 1994 I owned a chia pet. It was back when chia pets only came in one variation, I think it was some sort of hedgehog, certainly there was less variety than the infomercial displayed just last week. It appears as chia pets have come back on the market, chia seeds have also moved out of the floral department and onto plates across America.

I realize this chia seed craze didn’t start yesterday but I’ve been skeptical and slow to pick up a bag to try myself. Then there was the several day hunt to obtain such a product. Over here in the southeast corner of Connecticut we are not fortunate enough to host a Whole Foods or a Trader Joe’s, but we do have McQuade’s, two of them in just a 20 mile radius in fact. Thank you to McQuade’s this chia seed post was made possible.

DSC_0110

I began my search in our Big Y grocery store, rather, I sent my father in search of the goods. He returned with an array of other items from the list but without the chia seeds. Several days later, we found ourselves at the Big Y again, and I asked for myself. I was first directed to the floral department, clearly I was misunderstood. I then questioned another Big Y employee and was directed to the baking aisle, no such luck. He then kindly suggested I try the rice aisle, for this aisle includes several “odd ball items like ‘kwana’…” I do believe he meant Quinoa (pronounced “keen-wa”). At least my father and I got a good laugh.

As I set out in the natural foods section of McQuade’s I spoke with an employee there who asked to confirm the spelling. He then radioed to another employee and before you know it I was educating three men about all the hype around chia seeds. And the best part? I found them!

DSC_0105

Aside from the various sprinkling on oatmeal, salads, soups, smoothies and ice cream (yup, I jazzed up some chocolate ice cream with them…think…sprinkles) I decided to try out a pudding recipe as well. The overnight soak didn’t phase me as I usually am planning breakfast the night before on most weeknights. The texture was similar to tapioca pudding.

For anyone who may be familiar with milled flax seed, chia seeds are quite comparable with regards to fiber and omega-3 content. But unlike flax seeds, chia seeds do not need to be milled in order for our bodies to digest them. For more information I recommend clicking here and here.

Chia Seed Pudding

Serves 4 to 6

2 1/4 cups skim milk

1/4 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp ground ginger

drizzle of honey (plus more for adding on top)

2/3 cup chia seeds

Toppings of fruits, nuts, coconut, etc. as desired.

In a medium bowl combine milk, honey, vanilla extract, ginger and chia seeds. Whisk vigorously to fully combine. Cover and refrigerate for at least 5 hours, ideally overnight.

Before serving, stir well and spoon into bowls. Top with desired add-ons and drizzle with a bit of honey.

