Lemon Chia Seed Yogurt Pancakes

by brookefiore

DSC_0087

Pancakes could be called the iconic breakfast of weekends. Tall stacks with freshly squeezed orange juice. Bowls of fresh fruit accompanied by mugs of hot coffee and the Saturday paper.

DSC_0076

While I can’t say this landscape has ever existed at my dining room table, I can picture it quite well. The sun is warm on the deck, the door is slightly open allowing the breeze off the river to float through the screened door.

DSC_0079

The reason this has never been a weekend staple in our household likely has to do with my lack of patience. Our griddle, severely warped, was discarded several years ago. We have yet to replace it with something reputable. I happen to really like our cast iron skillets as a stand in, but the small surface limits the amount of pancakes we are able to cook at one time.

DSC_0082

Enter here, my impatience. I pace around the kitchen waiting for bubbles to  appear on the pancake’s surface. Sometimes I flip to soon. Sometimes I eat them hot off the stove top, sans all the toppings of butter and syrup. The overall experience is lackluster.

DSC_0100

Over the years, I’d like to think my patience has improved through work experience and a conscious effort. Though I wouldn’t say I’m the poster child, I think I’m getting better. This morning I was feeling ambitious.

DSC_0091

Although it is not a weekend, and I have no one to share my pancakes with, I decided to split the recipe in half and make a stack fit for one. Although let it be known that even that was a bit too much.

DSC_0101

The last of old man winter is howling outside, rattling the windows. The threat of snow hangs in the purple-gray clouds. But inside, I bring citrus to my plate in an effort to keep a sunny demeanor and the hope for spring alive.

Lemon Chia Seed Yogurt Pancakes

Adapted from Two Peas and Their Pod Blog

Makes about 8 medium sized pancakes

 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

3 tbsp granulated sugar

3 tsp lemon zest

1/2 cup vanilla (or plain) greek yogurt (such as Chobani 0%)

1 cup skim milk

2 tbsp fresh lemon juice

2 eggs

1 tbsp canola oil

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 tbsp chia seeds

DSC_0090

In a large bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder and salt. In a small bowl, combine sugar and lemon zest. Using your fingers, rub the sugar and lemon zest together until fragrant. Whisk into the dry ingredients.

In a medium bowl, whisk together milk, eggs, canola oil, yogurt, lemon juice and vanilla extract. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients, gently stirring just until combined. Stir in chia seeds.

Head a cast iron skillet or griddle over medium heat. Spray with non-stick cooking spray. Pour about a 1/4 cup of pancake batter onto the hot griddle or skillet. Once pancakes start to bubble flip to the other side. Cooking until golden brown. Serve with  butter, syrup, fruit or jam if desired.

