Saturday Farmer’s Market Lunch Week Two

by brookefiore

 


DSC_0090
I can’t help but be just a little bit obsessed with the signs of spring. While pulling into my driveway, I caught a glimpse of a group of determined daffodils, dancing in the sunshine, hanging out in amongst a blanket of melting snow. By the time I got inside and got my camera, the snow had melted away at their bases. I wasn’t sure whether to be happy at the sight of less snow, or a little bit disappointed to have missed an early spring photo.

DSC_0076

We headed back to the farmer’s market yesterday in search of some lunch inspiration. Though the selection is slightly limited this time of year, there is always some freshly baked bread to marvel at and the fingerling potatoes were too precious to pass up. With a similar plan to last week, I’m going to save the potatoes for Sunday night dinner.

DSC_0088

I’ve come to adore the little lady that stands beside her potatoes each week at the market. She talks about the potatoes as if they were her children, more than willing to educate a patient ear. Her male companion stands proudly beside her,. I recall this man from last year. He shared the story of apricot jam with my father and I. A story I’ll save for another day.  This week, I caught sight of  a small box of some granny smiths, “just out of cold storage” the sweet lady informed me. I was sold. I tend to only eat apples in the fall, when I am able to pick them off the tree myself. But granny smith apples are my absolute favorite.

DSC_0077

With that, I decided to remake a sandwich I had posted about back in September. I love including fruit in salads and sandwiches, usually dried fruit is a given, but fresh strawberries in June over a nice green salad and some poppy seed dressing is one of my ultimate favorites. An apple and ham sandwich is a close second.

DSC_0081

This week we chose black olive bread and although the cheese lady didn’t have any brie, the grocery store happened to be on our way home. The idea of this weekly post is to have a lunch that incorporates some goodies from the farmer’s market, I never said it could only contain those ingredients. After all, this is my quest, so I’m making the rules up as I go.

DSC_0085

The recipe for this sandwich is pretty much at the owner’s discretion.

Apple, Ham, Brie and Arugula Open Faced Sandwich on Black Olive Bread

1 slice of your choice of artisan bread (farmer’s market find #1), placed on a parchment lined baking sheet, then placed under the broil for 1-2 minutes until slightly toasted. Spread with a bit of dijon mustard.

Gently heat a few slices of deli honey ham in a cast iron skillet or medium heat. Transfer to a paper towel lined plate so absorb some of the moisture. Lay slices on top of the bread. Top with a handful of arugula followed by a few thin slices from a granny smith apple (farmer’s market find #2).  Place two to three thin slices of brie cheese on top and place open faced sandwiches back under the broiler for another 1 to 2 minutes until brie has begun to melt but arugula has not yet wilted. Top with freshly ground black pepper.

DSC_0095

We ate ours along with some leftover salad.

