Pumpkin Chick Pea Patties

by brookefiore


So this past week didn’t exactly go as planned. I’m not complaining by any means but I must say, I realized how much I rely on my planning abilities in order to make interesting breakfasts, lunches, and dinners happen and thus, posts happen. It isn’t that I don’t have post-worthy meals while I’m not blogging but it’s more of a “what do I have time to make/what ingredients are in the kitchen” which often results in repeats of tried and true recipes.

Instead of cooking, I was able to spend some time playing with my new Sigma 70-300mm zoom lens, chasing sunsets and birds. In short, I now have some incredible zooming and macro capabilities! A few initial photos to follow…

DSC_0141

DSC_0072

DSC_0123

DSC_0093

In other news, we were unable to visit the farmer’s market this weekend, I’m three weeks in and I’ve already broken my commitment to visit on a weekly basis. Can’t be perfect all the time right? I’m hoping to make it there next weekend, and I’m also hoping that the warmer weather and advancement into spring means more variety. For anyone who is interested in finding a farmer’s market within reach of where they reside – or perhaps looking for additional markets – I highly recommend clicking here.

DSC_0178

DSC_0181

Though I couldn’t bring you many posts this past week, I thought I would share lunch, and a secret with you today. My secret: I’m a little bit of a veggie burger snob. I like a lot of texture, I need substance and I need flavor. Nothing in the supermarket freezer section has ever impressed me. And so, I turn to the internet, my food processor and a bit of creativity instead.

DSC_0185

DSC_0193

You would think I would have exhausted my taste buds with all the pureed pumpkin I used from September to November this past year. But after a few months on hiatus, pumpkin enters its way back into my pantry. This time, in the form of pumpkin chick pea patties.

DSC_0195

Pumpkin Chick Pea Patties

Adapted from Sprouted Kitchen’s Blog

Makes about 5 – 4oz patties 

Ingredients

2 cloves garlic

2 TBSP chopped, fresh parsley

1/2 cup pumpkin puree

2 TBSP olive oil

1 tsp chili powder

3/4 tsp salt

1 tsp cumin

1 cup cooked and cooled wild rice blend (or plain brown rice)

2 cups cooked and cooled chick peas (garbanzo beans)

2 TBSP ground flax seeds

1/3 cup panko bread crumbs

1-2 TBSP olive oil for cooking

Start by mincing the garlic in a food processor by pulsing a few times. Then add the parsley, pumpkin, olive oil, chili powder, salt and cumin. Pulse about 4 times more, scraping down the sides with a rubber spatula. Add the rice and 1/2 of the chick peas (1 cup) and pulse 2-3 more times. Add in ground flax and panko, pulse once or twice. Add the remaining cup of chick peas and pulse a 2 to 3 times. Do not over pulse if you are like me and like a few larger chunks of chick pea in your patty.

Form mixture into 5 patties and heat olive oil in a large cast iron skillet over medium heat. Once oil is shimmering hot, add patties, cooking as many as will comfortably fit at one time. Cook until a golden crust forms, about 2 to 3 minutes per side.

DSC_0197

Add to salad or whole wheat bun. Today, I had mine over a bed of arugula and pea shoots that was tossed with a bit of balsamic vinegar. Arrik put his in a tortilla left over from last night’s dinner with a bit of wasabi goat cheese, arugula salad on the side. Another great addition would be the avocado mash, used in the Farmer’s Market Lunch Week 1 post.

Side Note: This recipe comes together very quickly when you keep things like rice and beans already prepared in your refrigerator. Ready at a moments notice for inclusion in your recipes.

