Spring Cleaning With A Food Focus

by brookefiore

I must preface this post by telling you that there will not be any recipe or craft at the end.

I’ve said it before and I’m saying it again. This time off in between jobs is such a blessing. I can’t tell you how relieved I am to not be in a tailspin over fear of the unknown and the sticky web of what-if’s. Instead, I am finding myself more excited than ever about so many different things. I’ve had the opportunity to do a bit of spring cleaning, literally in my home and figuratively in my mind.

Apologies in advance if this post appears to jump from topic to topic – just a little insight into the workings of my brain.

Once I had completed by dietetic internship, I knew I would have copious amounts of time that I had been so deprived of from September 2011 to June 2012. Studying for my RD exam was of upmost priority but certainly it could not fill my days entirely. I sat at the beach and with pen and paper in hand, and with my RD exam study guide as my writing surface, I created a list of the things I wanted to accomplish during this transitionary phase. This list included:

pass my RD exam, follow my study schedule (check.)

start a blog (check.)

hosting a get together for my fellow DI graduates (check.)

read Happier at Home (check.)

cook more (check.)

find a job (check.)

build a bird house (check.)

exercise most days of the week (check.)

 The cool thing about this list is that I accomplished all of these things in the 4 months it took me to find a job. I hadn’t allowed myself the time to worry about what if I didn’t find a job, or what if I didn’t like my job or what if I wasn’t good at my job because I was too busy accomplishing my to-do list. I think starting a blog was the item I was most apprehensive about. I love to write and I love photography but I had dreams of perfection and those dreams nearly killed by idea before it had even hatched.

Here in the final days of my second transitionary phase from per-diem to full time dietitian and I find myself creating another list. This time, a list to items to accomplish while also working. I’ve been toying around with components of this list now for weeks, but I’m finally ready to put pen to paper, or rather fingers to keyboard. I’ve decided to post my list here, for accountability purposes. I think this list will certainly fuel my future posts.

Continue to attend the farmer’s market weekly

Join a CSA

Start a square foot garden

Eat less meat/chicken

Be better about planning meals

Learn more about photography

Drink little to no alcohol

Move out of my parent’s house

Run more

Give my blog a facelift

 In my time off I’ve had the time to watch and re-visit several food documentaries. I’ve viewed with a critical and skeptical eye but I have found bits of inspiration in each one. Some of the ones I’ve viewed include: Supersize Me, King Corn, Forks over Knives, Slow Food Revolution, Food Inc, and The Weight of the Nation.

After watching these documentaries I sometimes feel helpless. For I am only one person who has little to no experience in food politics. I then remember two things: I have the opportunity to influence people about food every day that I work and I am able to chose the foods I consume and can explore food politics at any time. It usually makes me feel a bit better.

One of the personal struggles I deal with is perfectionism, food and health perfectionism specially. As a dietitian I want to make the best, healthiest, most responsible, and realistic food choices possible. My ideas of what this exactly means are always evolving. Put simply, the most prominent decision I’ve made after taking the time for a little self-reflection is that I would like to eat a little less meat and chicken and shift my dietary intake a bit closer to vegetarianism. Do I wish to become a true vegetarian? Not at this point in time.

Interestingly, a more plant based approach to my diet has been an idea I’ve been toying with for months now, but after watching some of the videos and doing a bit of research, I feel ready to embark. It was also nice to see so many other bloggers who seem to feel a similar way. This post at Naturally Ella was particularly inspiring.

Does this mean you will never see meat and/or chicken on my blog again? Not true. Does this mean I am eliminating dairy? Not a chance! Does this mean I will become a full blown animal rights advocate? Not likely. Does this mean I will try to be as creative as possible, packing fruits and veggies into every corner of this blog and my diet, and speak more to seasonal, local produce? Quite possibly yes.

You’re welcome to come along for the ride.

