Loaded Sweet Potato

by brookefiore

DSC_0072

I’m so happy to report that this post is brought to you from a lovely sunny spot out on the deck. The patio furniture may not be out from the garage yet, but a table and wobbly bench that’s weathered the winter months will suffice.

DSC_0058

If there is one thing lately that brings me inner peace, I think it is knowing how to roll with the punches when it comes to the weather. The nights are chilly, threatening the ground will below freezing temperatures but most days this week were ideal spring sweater days. I’m never confident enough to venture away from the house without my jacket but I don’t need to necessarily bundle up either.

DSC_0068

I see no sense in harping on unfavorable weather, something so very out of our control. Instead, in case you haven’t noticed, I tend to find the good in all the days, be it dreary and damp or something so spring-like as today.

DSC_0067

Just a few days ago however it was gloomy and grey and I was glad I hadn’t jumped the gun and packed away my woolen scarves. The day had me rummaging in the fridge for something to bring additional warmth to my bones. Though it takes a bit of planning as baking a sweet potato can take up to an hour, the warmth and sweet smells from the oven were quite nice.

DSC_0063

Though today has me hoping for many more warm days ahead, another cold snap is still very possible, and so, here’s a hearty warm lunch to combat it with.

DSC_0074

Loaded Sweet Potato

Serves 2

4 cups of kale, torn into bite sized pieces

2 tsp olive oil

1 large or 2 small cloves garlic, minced

2 sweet potatoes

sunflower seeds, unsalted and shelled

gorgonzola cheese

Preheat the oven to 400F and pierce holes in the sweet potatoes with a fork. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and bake sweet potatoes for 45 minutes to 1 hour depending on size.

Meanwhile, heat olive oil in a cast iron skillet over medium heat. Once shimmering hot, add garlic and cook until fragrant, about 1-2 minutes. Add in kale and cook until soft and slightly wilted, allowing additional cooking time for less crunch. I like mine still with a little bit of crunch so about 8 minutes works for me.

Once sweet potatoes are done baking, make a slit down the middle, lengthwise,  without cutting all the way in half. Push the ends of the sweet potato together, making an opening in the middle. Fill will kale and top with sunflower seeds and cheese.

DSC_0075

 

 

 

 

 

 

