Oven Roasted Carrot and Quinoa Salad

by brookefiore

image
Like many, I often struggle with cooking during the week when I’m also working. I’ve found that being able to do some preparation on the weekend is a big help but this still isn’t enough. As much as a planner as I am, I can’t seem to plan out more than one or two meals ahead of time.

image

I know I’m not alone when it comes to letting my mood and unforeseen obstacles/commitments dictate my food choices (within reason). With all of this being said, I manage to maintain healthy, wholesome choices by keeping certain staples on hand. One of those staples is quinoa. With a combination of fiber and complete protein, it’s hard to argue with its nutritious profile.

image

So the other night while I made a simple black bean and spinach quesadilla for dinner I also took the opportunity to make some quinoa. I wasn’t sure just what I would do with it for the remainder of the week but I knew that the simple step of stove top cooking is often a barrier, especially when it comes to last minute meal prep.

image

With the quinoa stored in the fridge, I was able to effortlessly incorporate it into lunches and dinners, some planned and some literally tossed together.

Though the sunny afternoons are proving to bring some spring-like warmth, I was still looking for something a bit warmer to add on my plate. I accomplished this in to ways: oven roasted carrots and cheesy quinoa.

There isn’t really a recipe here, so feel free to add amounts as desired and also, substitute different types of nuts or cheese.

image

Oven Roasted Carrot and Quinoa Salad

Start by washing, peeling and slicing some carrots into strips. Spray with a bit of nonstick cooking spray and roast in the oven at 400F for about 20 minutes.

In the meantime, make a nice bed of greens on your plate, I used a mix of spring mix lettuce and baby spinach. Next, microwave a desired amount of cooked quinoa for about 45 seconds. Add in cheese (I used Gorgonzola), nuts (or sunflower seeds in my case), a drizzle of olive oil and honey and give half of a lemon a good squeeze in there too. Mix well and add quinoa mixture to salad greens. Toss a few of the carrot tops in there too if you wish. Top with roasted carrots. No dressing is required as the quinoa mixture brings a nice aspect of moisture. Enjoy!

