Kale Parmesan White Bean Patties

by brookefiore

I hear it all the time.

Eating healthy is too expensive.

Eating healthy is too confusing.

Eating healthy takes too much time.

DSC_0021

I tend to be a no-excuses kind of girl and so I must resist the urge to say make time, spend the money and figure it out. Of course I don’t really feel this way. One of my favorite parts about nutrition is the opportunity to teach people how to make nutrition work for them; in their financial situation, within their schedule, and on their budget.

DSC_0004

DSC_0002

 I can’t give out money and I can’t take away soccer practices, family affairs and job responsibilities; but I can help people navigate their way through twisted web of nutrition information overload and devise a game plan to stretch the food dollar without sacrificing good taste or good nutrition.

DSC_0006

Personally, one way I tackle the woes of limited time is by gravitating towards meals that can be easily transformed from weeknight sit down dinners to on-the-go lunches. I also love the idea of cook once, eat twice. I use whatever spare time I can find during the week or weekend to plan ahead, for planning is a huge priority of mine.

DSC_0011

DSC_0017

These kale parmesan white bean patties are yet another take on the home made veggie burger. After years of eating mediocre packaged veggie burgers, I finally took my own advice and made my own. By making extra, I  have been able to make them just as convenient as their pre-packaged counterpart but with far more flavor, fiber and protein than anything the freezer section could ever offer. By storing a few patties in the freezer to be thawed and cooked for weekday lunches or dinner in a pinch, I feel I’ve established a sort of nutritional convenience.

DSC_0018

DSC_0019

Kale Parmesan White Bean Patties

Adapted from Kitchen Simplicity

Makes six patties

Ingredients:

1/2 of a yellow onion, diced

2 garlic cloves, minced

2 large leaves kale, stems removed, leaves chopped

2 tablespoons water

1/2 teaspoon ground cumin

1/8 teaspoon red pepper flakes

1/8 teaspoon paprika

2 – 15 oz. cans white beans, rinsed and drained

1 teaspoon red wine vinegar

1/4 cup grated parmesan

1/4 cup chopped sun-dried tomatoes

1/4 cup pepitas (shelled pumpkin seeds)

1/2 cup breadcrumbs

2 eggs

salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

In a medium skillet, heat a drizzle of olive oil over medium heat until shimmering hot. Sautee garlic and onion for about 3-5 minutes. Add kale, water and spices and cook until kale has wilted. Removed from heat and allow to cool slightly.

Add 1/2 the beans to the food processor with half of the kale mixture, all of the grated parmesan, pepitas, red wine vinegar and sun-dried tomatoes. Pulse several times until a chunky puree forms. Add in eggs and the rest of the bean and kale mixtures. Pulse several more times, transfer mixture to large bowl and mix in bread crumbs. Form into patties.

Heat patties in a skillet drizzled with olive oil until both sides of the patties are browned and golden.

Side Note: Patties may be frozen and thawed for future use or stored in the fridge until dinner time.

 

 

 

 

 

