Square Foot Garden Update

by brookefiore

Happy Earth Day everyone!

Regretfully, today wasn’t the kind of day that I spent all day outside, appreciating Mother Earth. Soaking up rays and Vitamin D, basking in the blooms of spring or even walking barefoot in grass in need of a trim wasn’t on my agenda. The gusts off the river kicked up white caps and my ears rang when I retreated indoors. While it’s not as if we have snow on the ground or anything, it wasn’t exactly the most balmy of spring days.

DSC_0015

In honor of this day I thought I would share a little square foot garden (SFG) update.

IMG_2865

The last two nights have brought temps that dipped into the lower thirties/upper twenties. This of course was not something I anticipated as I planted my seeds in shorts and a tee just about two weeks ago. The frost advisory had us quickly turning to Google for the quickest way to save our sprouts. Hay wasn’t an option as the sun set over the back stonewall, casting a deep shadow on the garden. A layer of leaves were feasible but sounded messy and a bit time consuming. Plastic bottles with the tops sliced off to cover the seedlings sounded nice, except we had only a few bottles and many sprouted tufts of beginner radishes and kale. An old comforter from a Macy’s Bed in a Bag circa 1998 and a tarp pulled from the garage seemed to be our best option.

DSC_0018

I would be lying if the scene from Gilmore Girls didn’t cross my mind. You know the one were Jackson, Sookie, Michael, and Lorelai sleep atop/beside the beloved zucchini monitoring for frost for the sake of an unscathed crop?


10988_1213484451415_303_300

(Photo courtesy of FanPop.com)

Though tonight may bring another evening of “tucking the garden into bed” so to speak, the comforter/tarp method appears to be saving the young leaves and for that I am thankful.


IMG_2868

Seeds planted so far include kale, lettuce, beets, carrots, radishes and sugar snap peas.

DSC_0011

Peppers have not been transplanted yet, as they are still snuggled up under the artificial warm glow in the living room.


DSC_0014


May will bring the opportunity to plant winter squash, cucumbers and miniature pumpkins for a fall harvest.

