Honey Banana Parfait

by brookefiore

Sometimes I have a really difficult time naming the things I create in the kitchen. I often have to resist the urge to name every single ingredient in the dish out of fear that I may sound like I’m reciting my grocery list. But then I ponder which ingredients are the most important and which can be left out of the title.

DSC_0062

Who am I kidding though, they’re all important or else they wouldn’t have made it into the recipe. No but really, this causes some minor anxiety in my life. For this breakfast parfait I’ve stuck with honey and banana because those were the two ingredients I woke up thinking about. The rest just kind of fell into place. And yes, that’s correct, I wake up thinking about things like bananas and honey.

DSC_0060

I happen to be a big believer in the fact that quinoa is one of those foods that you should always make more than you need. Also, I have yet to truly determine what 1 cup dry quinoa equates to once cooked. Sure, I could take the time to measure it out but I usually just take what I need and then stow the rest in a tupperware. As I said in  a post not so long ago, quinoa can be incorporated or substituted in a variety of dishes and it’s a fantastic source of plant based protein. More recently it has found its way on to my breakfast plate, and really, I never saw that day coming.

DSC_0061

In this in between phase of (fairly) warm days and chilly nights I wake up indecisive as to whether I want something warm like stick-to-your-ribs oatmeal or something cool like a refreshing bowl of yogurt, fruit and nuts or a simple bowl of cereal. This parfait seems to be a nice mix of both temperatures.

DSC_0070

DSC_0067_2

Banana Honey (Quinoa, Peanut Butter, Greek Yogurt) Parfait

Serves 1

Inspired by Edible Perspective Blog

Ingredients: 

1/4 cup plain, nonfat Greek yogurt mixed with 1/4 tsp pure vanilla extra and 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon.

1/2-3/4 cup cooked quinoa (warm – I microwaved mine for about 45 seconds)

1 medium sized banana, sliced thinly

1 TBSP peanut butter, melted

1 tsp honey

Start by layering greek yogurt, banana slices then quinoa in a glass. Repeat layering technique, making sure to end with quinoa on top. Save a few banana slices for the top or garnish, then drizzle melted peanut butter and honey over the quinoa. Dig in!

Optional variation: include some raw or toasted walnuts or almonds.

DSC_0072_2

