Popped Amaranth

by brookefiore

This post is dedicated to the very talented blogger behind Edible Perspective. Had I not stumbled upon her blog I’m not sure how long it would have been before this post would have occurred. So thank you Ashley for such inspiration!

DSC_0001

DSC_0008

For a few months now, maybe longer, I have been subconsciously debating picking up a bag of amaranth. I walk past displays of Bob’s Red Mill even though I have a kitchen stocked with milled flax, chia seeds and the like. I pick up bags of ancient grains, I turn them over, read the stories on the back of the package, I wonder about Bob and I think, “maybe next time I’ll try something new.”

DSC_0006

I have never directly expressed an interest in cooking amaranth, like many, I wasn’t even sure what amaranth was or what I would do with it. I like to try new things and given the nature of my profession, I often feel compelled to be comfortable discussing, cooking and eating a wide variety of foods.

DSC_0052

DSC_0007

So back to this wonderful evening when I was making virtual stops at a few of my favorite food blogs, one particular site gave a shout out to Edible Perspective and naturally, I had to see where the link would take me. I got to poking around through various recipes when I landed on popmaranth. Popped amaranth! And just like that, I knew that I needed to go out and get myself a bag of this stuff and get popping.

DSC_0005

Though my love for amaranth is new and evolving, I thought I would use this post as a platform to educate those that may have no idea what I am talking about. And yes, you can definitely expect to see variations of breakfast posts inspired by amaranth in the future.

DSC_0016

  • Amaranth has quite the history in Mexico and is considered a native grain of Peru.
  • Amaranth is not only full of protein, serving up 8 grams per uncooked 1/4 cup, it is also considered a complete protein.
  • 1/4 cup of dry amaranth contains about 80 mg of calcium, that’s almost as much as 1/3 cup of milk! It is also high in Magnesium and serves up 7 grams of dietary fiber per serving. 
  • Amaranth is naturally gluten free, proving to be yet another option for those required to follow a GF diet. 
  • Lastly, amaranth itself seems to have a very neutral flavor much like quinoa. This of course means that the flavoring possibilities are nearly endless. 

It may take a few times to get the cooking technique down but once you’ve mastered it you’ll be popping like a pro.

DSC_0015

Head over to Ashley’s site for some much needed cooking tips.

DSC_0053

Add in’s are endless including a combination of any of the following just to name a few: Shredded coconut, cocoa powder, vanilla extract, cinnamon, fresh or frozen fruit, dried fruit, chocolate chips, milk, yogurt, honey, maple syrup, peanut butter. You get the idea…
DSC_0003
DSC_0012

DSC_0011

So what are you waiting for? Get popping!

DSC_0017

