Citrus Infused Scallops

by brookefiore

DSC_0031

Lately I have neglected to keep up with my posts. I can’t put my finger on what it is exactly that has kept me from being as vigilant about posting multiple times each week, but when I created this space back in September I swore to myself that I would stop posting as soon as it became a chore. My original intent was to create a place to cultivate several things that I love most. Food, photography, and writing.

DSC_0008

DSC_0003

I still love my little nook on the internet but lately I’ve found myself spending more time outside and less time hovering over the stove top. I think that the time will come again where I enjoy posting more often but for now I find myself occupying my time differently. I guess where I am going with this is that I appreciate any and all the readers who stop by to visit my page and I strive to bring original and genuine content. That being said, I have been posting less frequently so that I don’t update just for the sake of getting new content on here every two days, as if to follow some sort of blogging expectation.

DSC_0012

Now that delicate blooms line the streets and grass has adapted a plushness that lends itself to picnics and bare feet, I find myself cooking up lighter meals in the kitchen.

 DSC_0018

DSC_0021

 One dish in particular has been kicking around for a number of years now. I believe the recipe clipping is from Good Housekeeping magazine about four years back. It was the first recipe I clipped and put into a plastic sleeve, but judging from the stiffness of the paper and the splatters of goodness knows what, I made the dish several times before it found it’s way into said protective sleeve.

As usual, I’ve tweaked the recipe ever so slightly but the concept remains the same. A light load in terms of calories without skimping on flavor one bit.

DSC_0026

Citrus Infused Scallops

Adapted from Good Housekeeping May 2009

Serves 3-4

Ingredients:

1 lemon

1 lime

1 1/4 lb sea scallops, rinsed

3 tsp olive oil

1 small-medium shallot, chopped finely

1 1/2 tsp dijon mustard

1 package arugula, rinsed and dried

1/4 cup fresh chopped parsley leaves

 Directions:

Obtain the zest from one lemon and one lime. Obtain the juice of each also. In a small bowl, combine peels and a dash of salt and pepper. Place citrus juices in a separate bowl and set aside.

Place scallops on paper-towel-lined plate and pat dry. Sprinkle with citrus peel mixture.

Heat 2 tsp olive oil in a skillet over medium heat. Add scallops and cook for 6-8 minutes or until opaque throughout, turning once. Remove from pan and cover.

Add remaining tsp olive oil and shallots to skillet and cook about 3 minutes. Add in dijon mustard and citrus juices, scraping up browned bits and cook about 1 minute. Toss greens with sauce and place scallops over bed of greens. Sprinkle with fresh parsley.

DSC_0007

Serve with couscous, rice or grain of choice. I chose Israeli Couscous lightly seasoned with a citrus blend and salted pepitas (shelled pumpkin seeds) for added protein.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

