SFG {Square Foot Garden} Update + We Have Radishes!

by brookefiore

I feel that too often I start off my posts with a confession. It quickly brings on a fear that someone will think that I am so pretentious and self-touting that I need lay it all out there in this little corner of the internet that I reside in. There you go folks, I did it again, I confessed as a start to my post.

DSC_0106

DSC_0114

I can’t say what imaginary rule led me to believe this confession nonsense wasn’t necessarily the most appropriate way to start off a post. So while I’m at it, here’s another confession for you, in case you haven’t already figured this out, when it comes to blogging, I really have no idea what I’m doing. I think that’s part of the reason I gain so much satisfaction from it. It’s a project and a challenge and after each post a mysterious wave of belonging, creativity and satisfaction comes over me.

DSC_0119

Sometimes I get to wandering from blog to blog, attempting to measure myself up to those that do this for a living, or those that have been so fortunate to have a professional design the layout of their blog, or those that just seem have the most beautiful pictures and words tied together with copious amounts of creativity. I fight off the urge to say, what am I doing here creating my own food blog? But the truth is (ah, another confession), I feel comforted by the fact that for once in my life, I am okay with not being “the best” at something and rather I am one of many, many fish in this large, crowded pond of food bloggers. To feel so small while being a part of something larger than yourself can be quite nice sometimes.

DSC_0126

DSC_0110

DSC_0112

DSC_0109

Two years ago was the first year I really got into gardening. Sure, I’d always attempted a few potted plants, adopted a pansy or two in need from the wilted black thumb of my mother. This year I decided to “do it right.” For heaven’s sake, I bought a book. I knew I needed a book after last year’s exquisitely small broccoli florets turned wild yellow flowering bush – yikes we missed the harvest, debacle.

DSC_0097

DSC_0124

So while there is no recipe to share today, I thought I’d just take the time to share a few pictures from the garden. I love the beauty in such small details.

IMG_2977

And I love that I was so excited to rip the first ripe radishes from the ground and get to slicing and munching that I completely forgot to have my camera ready and so instead I must share a snap shot courtesy of my iPhone.

 

