Strawberry Rhubarb Oatmeal

by brookefiore

I had good intentions when I set out to visit the farmer’s market every Saturday morning. I had good intentions of creating super fresh Saturday lunches. The point is, I had good intentions.

But I failed to keep the momentum going after about three weeks. I found myself filling my 10 to 1 window of opportunity with other miscellaneous Saturday endeavors and soon it was springtime and the market had moved outdoors and I was getting the itch to return. I felt certain that I would be able to find more than potatoes and beets and chick peas. So yesterday, Arrik and I headed down to the green, alongside docks of fisherman, with an unmistakable scent of bombster scallops wafting through the air, a peculiar but wonderful odor that seems to always linger above the narrow streets of Stonington Borough.

The banjo man bounced on his stool in the center of green, while a number of new (to me) faces dotted the line up of open air tents. A heavy set man with the biggest grin sliced from a giant fillet of swordfish. Familiar faces from the Winter’s market were among the mix. My favorite lady, donning her straw hat chatted on about various plant varieties that filled the better portion of her table. A speckled pot held freshly harvested asparagus and alongside lay the red and green stalks of rhubarb.

IMG_2995

“Rhubarb!” I exclaimed, scooting over to take a closer look.

“Raspberry, Strawberry, Rhubarb pie!” Arrik called out.

“No, no, no” I countered, “Raspberry, Strawberry, Rhubarb Oatmeal.

The couple selling the rhubarb and Arrik gave me a bit of a tilted glance.

“I’ll take one bunch please.”

Among ingredients for caper pesto scallops over a bed of fresh spinach pasta, asparagus and chive Chevre, I clutched my rhubarb tightly.

I’ve actually never had rhubarb you see, but I felt like I’d heard so much about her green and red tinted lanky stalks that I knew we’d become fast friends.

I also hate pie. Hence, I took the oatmeal route.

Strawberry Rhubarb Oatmeal

Heavily adapted from Happy Yolks.

Serves 2-3

Ingredients:

3 to 4 stalks of rhubarb, washed, dried and cut into 1” pieces.

1 – 2 TBSP raw sugar

1 TBSP maple syrup

Zest and juice of one orange

1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp cinnamon

old fashioned oats

sliced almonds

fresh strawberries and raspberries

Preheat oven to 450F. Slice rhubarb into 1” pieces and toss into an 8×8” baking dish. Toss rhubarb with orange zest, juice, vanilla extract, sugar, maple syrup and cinnamon. Mix so that rhubarb is evenly coated. Bake for about 20 minutes.

Prepare oatmeal as desired. Spoon rhubarb and juices over oatmeal. Add in fresh fruit and sprinkle with almonds.

