Hosting a Bridal Shower

by brookefiore

It’s an exciting time of the year. I sit at traffic lights, windows down, sweet smells from the flowering trees above roll in, dancing beneath my nose, making a seemingly mundane task of running to the store for last minute dinner items seem like a treat.

DSC_0006

DSC_0019_2

The sun sets later and later with each passing day, the first night I slept with the windows open, heavy fog blanketed the ships at the docks, the aroma of lilacs went untamed, the tones of Latimer point guiding boaters was amplified yet slightly subdued by the damp air, summer’s coming that low decibel whispered to me with each tone. Like waves rolling onto shore, a predictable familiar pattern, lulling me to sleep.

DSC_0017

DSC_0028

DSC_0035

DSC_0031

Though Sunday afternoon was plagued by chilled rain drops, there was warmth just beyond the rain streaked windows inside the yacht club.

DSC_0022

DSC_0014

DSC_0020

DSC_0041

DSC_0009

Chatter and clinking glassware, sweet bowls of fruit alongside potted herbs brought friends and family together to honor a bride-to-be.

DSC_0013

If I wasn’t a dietitian, then I’d likely be a farmer or maybe a writer, but maybe I just might be a party planner.

DSC_0025

DSC_0024

Through the gracious help of several of my mother’s friends we were able to host a lovely bridal shower down by the sea, on the albeit rainy shores of Noank. A celebration of new beginnings, at one of the most beautiful times of year if I do say so.

DSC_0044

