Kamut Summer Salad

by brookefiore

Just like January and September are able to signify new beginnings I like to think that June is another timestamp in the year.

DSC_0019

For many, Memorial Day weekend is the unofficial start to summer, and for others summer comes when school ends. According to our calendar, June 21st marks the Summer solstice. But this year, it was nearly forty degrees and raining sideways on Memorial Day, leaving me searching for socks and hot beverages and without school or any sort of graduation to speak of, I thought I would wait until June 21st to recognize the new season. But our ever-changing New England weather had other plans; sweeping summer breezes, hazy skies and near ninety degree temperatures brought in feelings of summer come the first day of June.

DSC_0007

I flipped through the June issue of Good Housekeeping with toes in the sand and the sun’s beams of warmth burning my winterized and pasty skin. The issue boasted ideas about how to make this “your best summer ever!” I can’t say I was entirely convinced by the idea but I did like the sounds of drumming up some summer plans so come September when the inevitable “how was your summer?” comes up in conversation I would be thinking along the lines of where to begin rather than where did the time go?

DSC_0012

This salad is very simple and barely made it onto a post. There isn’t a recipe you see, while the basics of spinach and an egg remain the same, the rest comes from the offerings of the refrigerator. I could see where this salad could fail, for the contents of the refrigerator must be worthy of being dressed up by some spinach leaves.

DSC_0009

 This is where my favorite technique of cooking up some “go-to” grains and veggies on my day off along with keeping a cabinet stocked full of nuts lends itself to healthy, quick and nearly mindless lunches or dine and dash dinners for the week!

Until recently I’d never taken the time to familiarize myself with Kamut. Hats off to Bob’s Red Mill for sending free samples, a nice nudge to get into the kitchen and get cooking, or rather, soaking. Overnight. Then cooking for forty minutes.

DSC_0017

 Kamut takes about an hour to cook however, you can reduce this time by tossing the grains with some water and allowing them to soak overnight.

As a nice source of fiber and protein, along with a unique slightly chewy texture, kamut seemed right at home alongside some gorgonzola crumbles and sun dried tomatoes.

DSC_0023

Kamut Summer Salad

Serves 1

Cook Kamut according to package directions. Place a handful or three of washed and dried baby spinach leaves onto a plate. Fry up an egg to your liking and place over bed of spinach. Sprinkle with crumbled gorgonzola cheese and thinly sliced sun dried tomatoes. Lastly, top with about 1/4 to 1/2 cup Kamut. Add dressing as desired.

 

 

 

 

 

 

