Roasted Asparagus Lemon Chicken Over Spinach Pasta

by brookefiore

It’s kind of ironic. When I sat down to write a post to accompany Kamut Summer Salad, I must have spent at least three days typing and backspacing. I almost debated sharing the recipe “as is,” nothing additional. I drummed up some words worthy of sharing. But tonight I find myself with so many words and thoughts I’m struggling to put them into comprehensible paragraphs as quickly as my mind is producing them.

DSC_0038

I consider myself to be at the pretty extreme end of a “Type A” personality. I have motivation and a positive attitude that I cultivate and cradle like precious gems. I carry them with me everywhere, I work on improving my outlook and maintaining happiness with each spare moment I have. Over time, thanks to that neat little thing called a habit, I’ve managed to be able to almost subconciously work on myself (my attitude, my outlook, etc) each and every day while maintaining productivity at work, healthy relationships and of course, a balanced diet. I said almost, I certainly remain mindful of it, it’s just a bit easier these days.

DSC_0014

DSC_0007

DSC_0004

I once read (and don’t ask me where because I can’t recall) that in a far away land – fancy term for a location I also don’t remember – people accept feelings of anger, remorse, guilt, frustration or any weaknesses they may have and they embrace it. They recognize this feeling, they truly allow themselves to feel it rather than fighting, resisting, or denying. It’s at this point that they are able to work through this stormy cloud, this blip in the road and come out on the other side with greater knowledge, understanding and peace.

It may sound minor, and certainly this is not the only thing I’ve ever struggled with, but I’m going somewhere with this so bare with me; since starting up this blog I’ve envied the many creative writers and bloggers and cooks and crafters out there who are able develop their own recipes. Initially, being a type A kinda gal, I stuck by those recipes to the very 1/4 tsp. I slowly started making some small substitutions and worked with angst while the entree or dessert or snack came together before my eyes. I hadn’t followed the rules, it was unknown territory for me.

DSC_0018

But then I found that when I just followed the recipes, accepted that I did not need to reinvent the wheel, that just because I followed a path already traveled it did not take away from my own achievement I began to relax and was better able to appreciate all that I was capable of rather than what I had not done.

DSC_0040

DSC_0019

 Lately I’ve found myself thinking I should blog about this but there isn’t a recipe. Talk about and ah-hah moment. When I finally accepted that I did not need to modify and substitute every recipe I came across was when I finally began to develop some of my own recipes and enjoy it. While you may not find these upcoming posts to be the fanciest recipes containing the most glamorous of ingredients, I think you’ll find them simple, attainable and quite satisfying.

DSC_0039

Roasted Asparagus Lemon Chicken Over Spinach Pasta

Serves 3 to 4

For the Chicken:

1.5 lbs boneless, skinless chicken breasts

Juice from 2 lemons

2 TBSP olive oil

Fresh thyme, chopped

Add lemon juice, olive oil and thyme to a large Ziploc bag, place chicken into bag, seal and massage chicken so it has been covered with marinade. Place in the refrigerator and allow to marinate for at least 15 minutes, a bit longer is just fine too.

Cook chicken in a medium to large skillet over medium high heat about 10 minutes per side (time will vary depending on thickness of chicken), cook until juices run clear.

Meanwhile, preheat oven to 400F. Lay stalks of asparagus onto a baking sheet, spray stalks with Pam non-stick cooking spray and roast for about 20 minutes or until slightly crispy.

Cook pasta of your choice according to package directions. Drain and divide among plates.

Top pasta with freshly grated Parmesan cheese, thinly sliced sun dried tomatoes, chicken and asparagus.

