Chicken Cordon Bleu

by brookefiore

I am often asked the question, “are you a vegetarian?” In fact, I am not. Though I have made a conscious effort to reduce my intake of meat and chicken, the reasons are mostly due to convenience and an attempt to incorporate more beans and plant-based protein into my diet. You might remember this post where I reluctantly expose my bizarre fear of chicken.

DSC_0017

DSC_0020

DSC_0038

Though I am still working on my “relationship” with chicken, I’ve made this dinner quite a number of times and thought it was about time that I share it.

DSC_0048

Chicken Cordon Bleu

Serves 6

Adapted from Skinny Taste 

Ingredients:

1 1/4 lb boneless, skinless chicken cutlets

3/4 cup whole wheat bread crumbs

4-6 chives, thinly sliced

1 egg

2 egg whites

2 TBSP mustard

1/2 lb deli ham

1/2 lb low fat deli swiss cheese

DSC_0028

DSC_0033

Directions:

Preheat oven to 450F. Spray a baking sheet with non-stick cooking spray. Using a meat tenderizer, lightly pound the chicken cutlets making them a bit thinner. Lay the chicken cutlets out onto a working surface and top each with a slice of ham and two slices of swiss cheese. Then roll and set aside, seam side down.

In a medium bowl, whisk eggs and mustard until combined.

On a large plate, spread out bread crumbs and chives, mix to combine.

Dip chicken into the egg mixture then coat with bread crumbs and place chicken, seam side down, onto baking sheet.

Bake for about 25 minutes.

