Strawberry Goat Cheese Salad {With Toasted Walnuts}

by brookefiore

I’m still struggling to get myself into a summer mindset. I’m going through the motions; packing beach bags, grilling on the deck, applying aloe to sun drenched skin, outdoor concerts, walking after dinner because the sun doesn’t set until nearly nine. I breathe extra deep breaths as I pass by large honeysuckle bushes, I stop and smother my nose in roses, insisting on pausing at each color variation for each bears a unique but wonderful scent.

DSC_0011

But because the Monday to Friday work marches on, I am learning how to feel summer without a traditional summer break. One way I’ve found to help combat this working gal dilemma is to make sure that I keep summer traditions alive. One of my favorites happens to be berry picking. Due to frequent soaking rains, the strawberry season is predicted to be shorter than usual. Perhaps that will be the excuse I’ll use as I find room in the fridge for nearly 3 lbs of these red beauties.

DSC_0053

DSC_0059

This salad is incredibly simple and by using the freshest ingredients, the end result is full of flavor.

DSC_0035

You could say I’ve entered berry heaven. And I don’t intend on leaving anytime soon.

DSC_0030

Strawberry Goat Cheese Salad {With Toasted Walnuts} 

Serves 1

Ingredients:

A handful or two of baby spinach leaves

2 TBSP toasted, chopped walnuts

1/2 cup sliced strawberries

Goat cheese as desired

Balsamic vinegar for dressing

Directions:

Fill bowl or luncheon plate with spinach leaves. Top with walnuts, goat cheese and strawberries. Dress as desired.

