Spicy Black Bean Burgers

by brookefiore

Another day. Another veggie burger post.

DSC_0012

Why you might ask. Why so many posts dedicated to veggie burgers?

DSC_0001

Because they are delicious! And freezable. And taste good on a bun, over salad, in a pita, on-the-go.

DSC_0004

And I really hate pre-packaged veggie burgers. You know, the ones in the freezer section at the supermarket?

No offense supermarket shoppers and Morning Star Farms, but I have yet to try a meatless patty that tops anything I can make and freeze myself. Equally as convenient, but so much tastier.

When I was in college and terrified of cooking beef, I relied heavily on the black bean version for weeknight dinners. Who am I kidding, I’m still terrified of cooking beef. But luckily, I’m not terrified to make my own version.

DSC_0009

DSC_0006

If there is any chance I haven’t convinced you about the homemade veggie burger’s capabilities, let me just say this: The recipe doesn’t even require fancy cooking equipment, just get your fork ready!

Spicy Black Bean Burgers

Yields 4 patties

Adapted from Dishing Up the Dirt

Ingredients:

1 can black beans, drained and rinsed

1/2 a red bell pepper, diced

1 medium shallot, diced

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 egg

1 TBSP chili powder

1 TBSP cumin

1/2 tsp smoked paprika

1/2 cup whole wheat bread crumbs

1 TBSP hot sauce (I used the garlic habanero stuff from the farmer’s market that I just can’t seem to get enough of lately).

Directions:

Mash about 1/2 to 3/4 of the beans with the back of a fork. Leave some whole, for added texture. Add the rest of the ingredients: un-mashed beans, bell pepper, shallot, garlic, egg, chili powder, cumin, smoked paprika, bread crumbs and hot sauce. Mix with a wooden spoon (or your clean hands). Form into four patties and cook up in a skillet coated with just a drizzle of olive oil over medium heat. Cook until patties are slightly browned, about 4-5 minutes per side!

Freezing Tip: Wrap patties in wax paper and a freezer Ziploc for a repeat meal. I usually unwrap the patties and microwave for about 1 minutes prior to cooking.

Fun additions include: avocado, cheese, ketchup, spicy brown mustard, spinach, tomatoes…or a nice side of baked sweet potato fries!

