Sweet Potato Egg Bake

by brookefiore

I don’t know if anyone else out there is like me in the respect that they are drawn to miniature things, but I sure am. I hate to admit that I’ve purchased too many kitchen items in “miniature” versions out of pure cuteness factor, taking a total disregard for practicality and convenience (which I believe would have been the adult thing to do).

But before anyone goes and calls me materialistic or shallow (I know some of you were going there) let me just say that I’ve found these miniature items to be some of the most useful additions to my kitchen to date.

For instance, the adorable little salt and pepper bowls with the miniature serving spoons featured in this post. Sure they’re not your average salt and pepper shaker, and yes, I’ve had to purchase a replacement after my cat swooped in and gave a determined whack to one of the bowls, resulting in salty shards of glass. But I just adore them, like, they make me smile when I season things. It’s the little stuff right?

Then there is the variety of extra small spatulas that fit perfectly into my extra small cast iron frying pan and flip my egg just right, every time. I feel as though I might be starting to sound like a nursery rhyme. I assure you, my house, and most things I own are life-size.

I received my most favorite scaled down culinary instrument as a birthday gift this year. I unwrapped a set of Le Creuset baking dishes in cherry red. A standard 8×8” for all my brownie baking and roasting needs and a larger oval casserole dish that fit the bill for any entertaining. But then there was the oddball 4×4” square version. My eyes widened. My mother quickly blurted out “I’m not so sure what you’ll even do with one, but it was cute, and different…and not very pricey.”

I reassured her, I love it! I have no idea what I will do with it, but I love it! And I did.

During my internship I wasn’t very into cooking (weird, right?) and I was more than guilty of allowing the whole “cooking for one person is too difficult/boring/lonely/pointless” mindset to consume me. I’ve since realized that living alone was no reason to eat cheese, crackers and celery every night.

The good news about this sweet potato egg bake is with a wee little 4×4” baking dish, this can easily be made for a party of 1. However, bring out the bigger pan and I think you’ll find this recipe can be increased as needed to fit your guest list. I tend to rely on this dish as a quick weeknight meal but I think it could also work nicely for a brunch too.

Sweet Potato Egg Bake

Serves 1

Adapted from Naturally Ella

Ingredients:

1/2 cup sweet potato, cut into 1” cubes

1 small shallot, thinly sliced

1 or 2 eggs

1/4 cup cheese (I tend to go for Goat or Gorgonzola – but I think you could use just about any one of your liking)

Hot sauce, salt and pepper as desired

A handful or three of washed and dried baby spinach

Directions:

Preheat oven to 450F. Prepare baking dish with non-stick cooking spray and lay cubed potato into a single layer, lightly spray potatoes with non-stick cooking spray or add a a drizzle of olive oil and toss the cubes until evenly coated. Bake for about 25 minutes, until fork tender.

Remove from oven, crack egg(s) over potato cubes, sprinkle with cheese and lay sliced shallots on top. Return to oven and bake until egg(s) are cooking to your liking, about 7 minutes. Transfer to a bed of spinach, top with hot sauce, salt and pepper as desired.

